The Legendary trident Wave has several functions, one of which is Cube of Force. The text states that you choose a Cube function instead of pressing a side.
Does “choosing a side” require an action like pressing a side does on a normal Cube?
I think that is a safe bet. The only thing it says is that choose instead of press. It doesn't say it changes the action requirement, so we can assume it doesn't.
If you are level 17 Assassin and you attack a creature that is surprised, would you automatically kill the target? (Assuming that the target fails the Death Strike feature saving throw.)
Starting at 17th level, you become a master of instant death. When you attack and hit a creature that is surprised, it must make a Constitution saving throw (DC 8 + your Dexterity modifier + your proficiency bonus). On a failed save, double the damage of your attack against the creature.
17th
+6
9d6 sneak attack
For example: 20 dex and rapier.
1. Advantage on the attack (Assassinate), automatic critical if you hit since surprised: 2d8+5 and 18d6 critical sneak attack= average 14+63= 77
2. IF they fail the CON save 8+5+6=19 THEN you double your damage. 77*2= 154 AVERAGE damage.
Because Wave's ability states that whenever you score a critical hit against a creature with it, that creature takes extra necrotic damage equal to half its hit point maximum. Therefore, if you use Death Strike and score a critical hit, shouldn't the creature instantly die?
Sure, assuming you somehow got trident proficiency and you have surprise and you are cool attacking with a STR-based weapon that you can't sneak attack with and it fails its CON check.
An attack on any enemy of note by level 17 is probably not going to pass all those checks, but for other stuff you can actually be an assassin.
If you are level 17 Assassin and you attack a creature that is surprised, would you automatically kill the target? (Assuming that the target fails the Death Strike feature saving throw.)
Keep in mind that you must actually hit with your attack roll. I don't see anything about this scenario that makes hitting automatic.
Because Wave's ability states that whenever you score a critical hit against a creature with it, that creature takes extra necrotic damage equal to half its hit point maximum. Therefore, if you use Death Strike and score a critical hit, shouldn't the creature instantly die?
Once you've actually hit your target, they will still be able to make a Constitution Saving Throw to avoid taking the full amount of this damage that adds up to a total of a little more than full-HP.
At that point, the target creature may or may not have been reduced to 0 HP from this attack. There are many features and other game mechanics such as Temporary Hit Points which might result in the target creature staying above 0 HP after this attack occurs.
If the attack results in dropping the target creature to 0 HP, then you follow the rules for Dropping to 0 Hit Points. For example, if the DM has decided that this creature is entitled to Death Saving Throws then the creature is still not dead yet.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The Legendary trident Wave has several functions, one of which is Cube of Force. The text states that you choose a Cube function instead of pressing a side.
Does “choosing a side” require an action like pressing a side does on a normal Cube?
Thanks!
I think that is a safe bet. The only thing it says is that choose instead of press. It doesn't say it changes the action requirement, so we can assume it doesn't.
If you are really concerned about it ask the DM.
If you are level 17 Assassin and you attack a creature that is surprised, would you automatically kill the target? (Assuming that the target fails the Death Strike feature saving throw.)
Death Strike
Starting at 17th level, you become a master of instant death. When you attack and hit a creature that is surprised, it must make a Constitution saving throw (DC 8 + your Dexterity modifier + your proficiency bonus). On a failed save, double the damage of your attack against the creature.
17th
+6
9d6 sneak attack
For example: 20 dex and rapier.
1. Advantage on the attack (Assassinate), automatic critical if you hit since surprised: 2d8+5 and 18d6 critical sneak attack= average 14+63= 77
2. IF they fail the CON save 8+5+6=19 THEN you double your damage. 77*2= 154 AVERAGE damage.
3. If it ain't dead, it's wishing it was!
Because Wave's ability states that whenever you score a critical hit against a creature with it, that creature takes extra necrotic damage equal to half its hit point maximum. Therefore, if you use Death Strike and score a critical hit, shouldn't the creature instantly die?
Sure, assuming you somehow got trident proficiency and you have surprise and you are cool attacking with a STR-based weapon that you can't sneak attack with and it fails its CON check.
An attack on any enemy of note by level 17 is probably not going to pass all those checks, but for other stuff you can actually be an assassin.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
Keep in mind that you must actually hit with your attack roll. I don't see anything about this scenario that makes hitting automatic.
Once you've actually hit your target, they will still be able to make a Constitution Saving Throw to avoid taking the full amount of this damage that adds up to a total of a little more than full-HP.
At that point, the target creature may or may not have been reduced to 0 HP from this attack. There are many features and other game mechanics such as Temporary Hit Points which might result in the target creature staying above 0 HP after this attack occurs.
If the attack results in dropping the target creature to 0 HP, then you follow the rules for Dropping to 0 Hit Points. For example, if the DM has decided that this creature is entitled to Death Saving Throws then the creature is still not dead yet.