Sorry if this is a common question -_- but I'd like a RAW answer: storing a held item and drawing a new one can be done as part of an action? Or does it count as TWO items interaction, and thus "priced" as a full action? What about dropping a held item and drawing a new one?
storing a held item and drawing a new one can be done as part of an action? Or does it count as TWO items interaction
I'm going to assume that we are talking about a scenario in which turn order is being imposed (i.e. combat). Storing a held item is always an action. Drawing a weapon as part of the Attack action is the only instance (as far as I'm aware) in which you do not need to use an individual action, and that is limited to one weapon without the Dual Wielder feat.
Dropping a held item entirely requires no action, but that item is now on the ground (and possibly broken depending on what it is/how your DM responds). You will need to use an action to pick it back up, and the earliest you are likely to be able to use that action is on your next turn. Don't expect it to be there when your turn comes back around.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Per the rules: You get one free object interaction as part of your move or action. To draw two weapons as part of your attack, you need the Dual Wielder feat. Dropping a weapon doesn't cost any action or interaction. You could drop a weapon (for free) and then draw another weapon as part of your attack. But stowing a weapon is an object interaction, so stowing AND drawing a weapon in the same turn would require the [Tooltip Not Found] action and object interaction.
You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat On - Mod Hat Off
storing a held item and drawing a new one can be done as part of an action? Or does it count as TWO items interaction
I'm going to assume that we are talking about a scenario in which turn order is being imposed (i.e. combat). Storing a held item is always an action. Drawing a weapon as part of the Attack action is the only instance (as far as I'm aware) in which you do not need to use an individual action, and that is limited to one weapon without the Dual Wielder feat.
Dropping a held item entirely requires no action, but that item is now on the ground (and possibly broken depending on what it is/how your DM responds). You will need to use an action to pick it back up, and the earliest you are likely to be able to use that action is on your next turn. Don't expect it to be there when your turn comes back around.
You could also use your free action as part of your movement to draw an item, instead of just drawing a weapon as part of an attack. It’s the same free action that a spellcaster uses to draw/stow M components with costs for/from Spellcasting.
But it’s one, or the other. We cannot take two free item interactions in the same turn. A second interaction requires the [Tooltip Not Found] action.
"You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack. If you want to interact with a second object, you need to use your action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions. The DM might require you to use an action for any of these activities when it needs special care or when it presents an unusual obstacle. For instance, the DM could reasonably expect you to use an action to open a stuck door or turn a crank to lower a drawbridge."
Examples given are opening a door or drawing a weapon.
Stowing an object or sheathing a weapon would also be a object interaction (unless it was particularly complex). For example, dropping a held item into your backpack could be free while a DM might require you to use your action if you wanted to find a container in your backpack and place the item within it since that would require interacting with multiple objects.
You only get one free object interaction on your turn. So you can't sheath and draw a weapon in the same turn. You also can't draw two weapons which is something that folks using dual wielding without the feat sometimes forget since unless they already had a weapon in hand, then they can only draw one on the first round and attack - they can't draw both without the feat.
Dropping isn't usually considered an object interaction so can be done without a cost. On the other hand, effectively dropping caltrops or ball bearings in an area from a bag would be an action.
Sorry if this is a common question -_- but I'd like a RAW answer: storing a held item and drawing a new one can be done as part of an action? Or does it count as TWO items interaction, and thus "priced" as a full action? What about dropping a held item and drawing a new one?
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
I'm going to assume that we are talking about a scenario in which turn order is being imposed (i.e. combat). Storing a held item is always an action. Drawing a weapon as part of the Attack action is the only instance (as far as I'm aware) in which you do not need to use an individual action, and that is limited to one weapon without the Dual Wielder feat.
Dropping a held item entirely requires no action, but that item is now on the ground (and possibly broken depending on what it is/how your DM responds). You will need to use an action to pick it back up, and the earliest you are likely to be able to use that action is on your next turn. Don't expect it to be there when your turn comes back around.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Per the rules: You get one free object interaction as part of your move or action. To draw two weapons as part of your attack, you need the Dual Wielder feat. Dropping a weapon doesn't cost any action or interaction. You could drop a weapon (for free) and then draw another weapon as part of your attack. But stowing a weapon is an object interaction, so stowing AND drawing a weapon in the same turn would require the [Tooltip Not Found] action and object interaction.
Feature Requests || Homebrew FAQ || Pricing FAQ || Hardcovers FAQ || Snippet Codes || Tooltips
DDB Guides & FAQs, Class Guides, Character Builds, Game Guides, Useful Websites, and WOTC Resources
You could also use your free action as part of your movement to draw an item, instead of just drawing a weapon as part of an attack. It’s the same free action that a spellcaster uses to draw/stow M components with costs for/from Spellcasting.
But it’s one, or the other. We cannot take two free item interactions in the same turn. A second interaction requires the [Tooltip Not Found] action.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Here is the text of the rule: PHB pg 190
"You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack. If you want to interact with a second object, you need to use your action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions. The DM might require you to use an action for any of these activities when it needs special care or when it presents an unusual obstacle. For instance, the DM could reasonably expect you to use an action to open a stuck door or turn a crank to lower a drawbridge."
Examples given are opening a door or drawing a weapon.
Stowing an object or sheathing a weapon would also be a object interaction (unless it was particularly complex). For example, dropping a held item into your backpack could be free while a DM might require you to use your action if you wanted to find a container in your backpack and place the item within it since that would require interacting with multiple objects.
You only get one free object interaction on your turn. So you can't sheath and draw a weapon in the same turn. You also can't draw two weapons which is something that folks using dual wielding without the feat sometimes forget since unless they already had a weapon in hand, then they can only draw one on the first round and attack - they can't draw both without the feat.
Dropping isn't usually considered an object interaction so can be done without a cost. On the other hand, effectively dropping caltrops or ball bearings in an area from a bag would be an action.