It's not correct only because of how you are trying to apply Divine Fury. Divine Fury only activates the first creature you hit on your turn, and only once per turn.
"While you're raging, the first creature you hit on each of your turns with a weapon attack.." Why only once per round? In my opinion , it is just limit to "first creature" not first attack.
"Weapon attack" means "an attack with a weapon." Meaning that you declared you are attacking and made an attack roll. And it only happens once per round because WotC decided for 5E to limit most forms of damage boosts to only going off once per round. It was because under 3rd Edition rules you could rather easily end up with a character who had 6 attacks per round with 3d6 damage bonus to all of them and damage output got too unwieldy.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Technically, OP is entirely correct in their assumption that the Divine Fury feature should trigger multiple times in a turn if you attack the creature you first attacked this turn, multiple times in a turn. (Edit for clarity: Say my first attack is against a golem. I trigger Divine Fury on that attack. Then I make another attack during the same turn, against the same golem. Divine Fury should trigger again, because it cares about the target, not the number of attacks.) If it wasn't meant to work that way, it would say something like, "takes extra damage... *from that attack.*" Or, "the first weapon attack you make deals extra damage..." Or, "the first time you hit with a weapon attack in a turn..."
However, I do think 6thLyranGuard is correct about the intention of the rule here. Which is to say, I think the writers made a mistake, and failed to properly communicate their intention. However, this is just my opinion. I can't really support it with facts. The best I could do would be to pull in examples from other parts of the rules and attempt to prove that those are sufficiently similar to this. But it would be impossible to actually prove, because they're all so different. I mean, to begin with, none of them are Barbarian features, and that's kind of important, right?
It seems that nobody noticed until now, and that's because the wording used in the Divine Fury feature is similar to wording used in other features and spells, but in those cases, it was more appropriate. We all got used to it working smoothly in those cases, that we just assumed it worked the same way in this case too, is my theory. But it doesn't. If you read it very literally, OP is correct.
I believe the issue is that Divine Fury is written to go off the first time you hit an enemy each turn, where most similar abilities are intended to go off on any one hit of your choice during your turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Actually, I think it's worded fine. It takes the damage because it was the first creature you hit, not because of the hit itself. Thus the damage only triggers when the specific clause is met, not on each hit.
Actually, I think it's worded fine. It takes the damage because it was the first creature you hit, not because of the hit itself. Thus the damage only triggers when the specific clause is met, not on each hit.
Right, and attacking it twice isn't the same thing as attacking a second creature.
Technically, OP is entirely correct in their assumption that the Divine Fury feature should trigger multiple times in a turn if you attack the creature you first attacked this turn, multiple times in a turn. (Edit for clarity: Say my first attack is against a golem. I trigger Divine Fury on that attack. Then I make another attack during the same turn, against the same golem. Divine Fury should trigger again, because it cares about the target, not the number of attacks.) If it wasn't meant to work that way, it would say something like, "takes extra damage... *from that attack.*" Or, "the first weapon attack you make deals extra damage..." Or, "the first time you hit with a weapon attack in a turn..."
"While you’re raging, the first creature you hit on each of your turns with a weapon attack takes extra damage equal to 1d6 + half your barbarian level."
It doesn't say 1d6 per hit or per attack or anything like that. It just says the first creature you hit takes extra damage equal to X, and because it doesn't say anything about that being tied to attacks or hits or anything else if you apply it exactly as written it can only be applied once per turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
Technically, OP is entirely correct in their assumption that the Divine Fury feature should trigger multiple times in a turn if you attack the creature you first attacked this turn, multiple times in a turn. (Edit for clarity: Say my first attack is against a golem. I trigger Divine Fury on that attack. Then I make another attack during the same turn, against the same golem. Divine Fury should trigger again, because it cares about the target, not the number of attacks.) If it wasn't meant to work that way, it would say something like, "takes extra damage... *from that attack.*" Or, "the first weapon attack you make deals extra damage..." Or, "the first time you hit with a weapon attack in a turn..."
"While you’re raging, the first creature you hit on each of your turns with a weapon attack takes extra damage equal to 1d6 + half your barbarian level."
It doesn't say 1d6 per hit or per attack or anything like that. It just says the first creature you hit takes extra damage equal to X, and because it doesn't say anything about that being tied to attacks or hits or anything else if you apply it exactly as written it can only be applied once per turn.
Ah, I think I see what you're saying.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi, iam new to DnD and play a lvl3 hafling zealot barbarian.
I am using two shortswords, because heavy weapons are no option. =)
I have some question about the Offhand-Damage by Rage:
If I attack the same Enemy twice. Attack: 1D6+3 (Sword+Str) +2(Rage) + 1D6+1(Divine Fury) and Bonusattack: 1D6 (Sword) + 1D6+1 (Divine Fury)
And when i go for Fighting Style, is my Offhand like: Bonusattack: 1D6+3 (Sword+Str) +2(Rage) + 1D6+1(Divine Fury) ?
Is this correct? And when not, can someone pls explain. Thank you very much. Have fun.
It's not correct only because of how you are trying to apply Divine Fury. Divine Fury only activates the first creature you hit on your turn, and only once per turn.
The Rage, however, adds to your offhand attack even without a fighting style.
So as of now: Attack: 1D6+3 (Sword+Str) +2(Rage) + 1D6+1(Divine Fury) and Bonus attack: 1D6 (Sword) + 2 (Rage)
With two-weapon fighting style: Attack: 1D6+3 (Sword+Str) +2(Rage) + 1D6+1(Divine Fury) and Bonus attack: 1D6+3 (Sword+Str) + 2 (Rage)
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
Thank you for the answers.
"While you're raging, the first creature you hit on each of your turns with a weapon attack.." Why only once per round? In my opinion , it is just limit to "first creature" not first attack.
Weapon attack = Bonusaction ?
"Weapon attack" means "an attack with a weapon." Meaning that you declared you are attacking and made an attack roll. And it only happens once per round because WotC decided for 5E to limit most forms of damage boosts to only going off once per round. It was because under 3rd Edition rules you could rather easily end up with a character who had 6 attacks per round with 3d6 damage bonus to all of them and damage output got too unwieldy.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Ok, thanks. Good to know :)
Technically, OP is entirely correct in their assumption that the Divine Fury feature should trigger multiple times in a turn if you attack the creature you first attacked this turn, multiple times in a turn. (Edit for clarity: Say my first attack is against a golem. I trigger Divine Fury on that attack. Then I make another attack during the same turn, against the same golem. Divine Fury should trigger again, because it cares about the target, not the number of attacks.) If it wasn't meant to work that way, it would say something like, "takes extra damage... *from that attack.*" Or, "the first weapon attack you make deals extra damage..." Or, "the first time you hit with a weapon attack in a turn..."
However, I do think 6thLyranGuard is correct about the intention of the rule here. Which is to say, I think the writers made a mistake, and failed to properly communicate their intention. However, this is just my opinion. I can't really support it with facts. The best I could do would be to pull in examples from other parts of the rules and attempt to prove that those are sufficiently similar to this. But it would be impossible to actually prove, because they're all so different. I mean, to begin with, none of them are Barbarian features, and that's kind of important, right?
It seems that nobody noticed until now, and that's because the wording used in the Divine Fury feature is similar to wording used in other features and spells, but in those cases, it was more appropriate. We all got used to it working smoothly in those cases, that we just assumed it worked the same way in this case too, is my theory. But it doesn't. If you read it very literally, OP is correct.
I believe the issue is that Divine Fury is written to go off the first time you hit an enemy each turn, where most similar abilities are intended to go off on any one hit of your choice during your turn.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Actually, I think it's worded fine. It takes the damage because it was the first creature you hit, not because of the hit itself. Thus the damage only triggers when the specific clause is met, not on each hit.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
Right, and attacking it twice isn't the same thing as attacking a second creature.
and now? what is the result? xD
"While you’re raging, the first creature you hit on each of your turns with a weapon attack takes extra damage equal to 1d6
+ half your barbarian level."
It doesn't say 1d6 per hit or per attack or anything like that. It just says the first creature you hit takes extra damage equal to X, and because it doesn't say anything about that being tied to attacks or hits or anything else if you apply it exactly as written it can only be applied once per turn.
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
Ah, I think I see what you're saying.