On person in my group mentioned that if a WotS Monk tries to Shadow Step into their own shadow, they will either end up in a random plane or make his shadow sentient thus creating a Negative Energy Planar creature. Is there any truth to this as I can't find anything after a Google search? Maybe I'm not searching right?
RAW there is nothing to suggest this; basically the ability simply states that if you're in dim light or darkness, you can teleport. It doesn't even specifically states that you need to actually "step into" a shadow, meaning that you could use it when you are restrained
That said, it's great flavor for your setting and might actually be a cool idea that it happens SOMETIMES and it is something of a superstition among those on the Way
Thanks for all your answers. Maybe he is thinking of an older system or Pathfinder? I've read the 5e rules and couldn't find it, which is why I ask.
The logic is that the moment you blink out of existence to Shadow Step, your shadow will disappear, thus you are trying to move to a shadow that no longer exists, because you will have a shadow in dim light, but not darkness.
It's possible that player was participating in a previous game where a DM had that as a house ruling, to prevent a player from being able to use the ability in direct light "but my character leaves a shadow - I will use that!"
Likely it was the DM's way to settle the supposed paradox of "If you try to go into your own shadow....what then is casting the shadow that you are trying to go into?"
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"The mongoose blew out its candle and was asleep in bed before the room went dark." —Llanowar fable
It's possible that player was participating in a previous game where a DM had that as a house ruling, to prevent a player from being able to use the ability in direct light "but my character leaves a shadow - I will use that!"
Likely it was the DM's way to settle the supposed paradox of "If you try to go into your own shadow....what then is casting the shadow that you are trying to go into?"
I think you both might be right. This may be something that needs to be added to RAW, "You can't jump to your own shadow." I can see how this is a house rule as it could be abused very easily.
The rules as written are fine. The actual requirement is to be in dim light or darkness, standing on top of your own shadow isn't the same as being in dim light or darkness.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
The Forum Infestation (TM)
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi all,
On person in my group mentioned that if a WotS Monk tries to Shadow Step into their own shadow, they will either end up in a random plane or make his shadow sentient thus creating a Negative Energy Planar creature. Is there any truth to this as I can't find anything after a Google search? Maybe I'm not searching right?
Thanks for your help,
Jon
That may be true only in the universe of your game. I suspect it is code for "you can't shadow step using only your own shadow - please don't try it".
RAW there is nothing to suggest this; basically the ability simply states that if you're in dim light or darkness, you can teleport. It doesn't even specifically states that you need to actually "step into" a shadow, meaning that you could use it when you are restrained
That said, it's great flavor for your setting and might actually be a cool idea that it happens SOMETIMES and it is something of a superstition among those on the Way
Subclass: Dwarven Defender - Dragonborn Paragon
Feats: Artificer Apprentice
Monsters: Sheep - Spellbreaker Warforged Titan
Magic Items: Whipier - Ring of Secret Storage - Collar of the Guardian
Monster template: Skeletal Creature
Thanks for all your answers. Maybe he is thinking of an older system or Pathfinder? I've read the 5e rules and couldn't find it, which is why I ask.
The logic is that the moment you blink out of existence to Shadow Step, your shadow will disappear, thus you are trying to move to a shadow that no longer exists, because you will have a shadow in dim light, but not darkness.
It's possible that player was participating in a previous game where a DM had that as a house ruling, to prevent a player from being able to use the ability in direct light "but my character leaves a shadow - I will use that!"
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
Likely it was the DM's way to settle the supposed paradox of "If you try to go into your own shadow....what then is casting the shadow that you are trying to go into?"
I think you both might be right. This may be something that needs to be added to RAW, "You can't jump to your own shadow." I can see how this is a house rule as it could be abused very easily.
The rules as written are fine. The actual requirement is to be in dim light or darkness, standing on top of your own shadow isn't the same as being in dim light or darkness.
The Forum Infestation (TM)