What happens when my halfling rolls a natural 1 and something else, say a 3, when rolling with disadvantage? I’m lucky and get to reroll 1’s but I’m not sure the order of it all. Is it considered that the 1 is my worse roll to satisfy the disadvantage and then I’m a halfling who gets to reroll the 1 and keep that result, even if it’s higher than the 3, or is it that I’m a halfling who rerolls the 1 and then compares that result to the 3, meaning I’m pretty much stuck with the 3, to satisfy the disadvantage? Do I compare the natural 1 to the other roll before or after the reroll?
Lucky for you this feature is specifically spelled out in the Player's Handbook:
When you have advantage or disadvantage and something in the game, such as the halfling's Lucky trait, lets you reroll or replace the d20, you can reroll or replace only one of the dice. You choose which one. For example, if a halfling has advantage or disadvantage on an ability check and rolls a 1 and a 13, the halfling could use the Lucky trait to reroll the 1.
But yeah, if you have disadvantage and roll a 3 and a 1, you're going to end up with a 3 at best.
What happens when my halfling rolls a natural 1 and something else, say a 3, when rolling with disadvantage? I’m lucky and get to reroll 1’s but I’m not sure the order of it all. Is it considered that the 1 is my worse roll to satisfy the disadvantage and then I’m a halfling who gets to reroll the 1 and keep that result, even if it’s higher than the 3, or is it that I’m a halfling who rerolls the 1 and then compares that result to the 3, meaning I’m pretty much stuck with the 3, to satisfy the disadvantage? Do I compare the natural 1 to the other roll before or after the reroll?
phb p173:
When you have advantage or disadvantage and something in the game, such as the halfling's Lucky trait, lets you re-roll the d20, you can re-roll only one of the dice. You choose which one. For example, if a halfling has advantage on an ability check and rolls a 1and a 13, the halfling could use the Lucky trait to re-roll the I.
Lucky for you this feature is specifically spelled out in the Player's Handbook:
When you have advantage or disadvantage and something in the game, such as the halfling's Lucky trait, lets you reroll or replace the d20, you can reroll or replace only one of the dice. You choose which one. For example, if a halfling has advantage or disadvantage on an ability check and rolls a 1 and a 13, the halfling could use the Lucky trait to reroll the 1.
But yeah, if you have disadvantage and roll a 3 and a 1, you're going to end up with a 3 at best.
I’m not sure the passage in the rules addresses my question. It specifies how many 1’s I can reroll, not when the reroll is considered.
FWIW, I’m inclined to agree with your interpretation. The DM and another player feel that the 1 satisfies the disadvantage and then it can be rerolled, possibly improving on the 3. It’s only happened once in nine months of playing this character. As such, the more generous reading prolly won’t break anything.
Lucky for you this feature is specifically spelled out in the Player's Handbook:
When you have advantage or disadvantage and something in the game, such as the halfling's Lucky trait, lets you reroll or replace the d20, you can reroll or replace only one of the dice. You choose which one. For example, if a halfling has advantage or disadvantage on an ability check and rolls a 1 and a 13, the halfling could use the Lucky trait to reroll the 1.
But yeah, if you have disadvantage and roll a 3 and a 1, you're going to end up with a 3 at best.
I’m not sure the passage in the rules addresses my question. It specifies how many 1’s I can reroll, not when the reroll is considered.
FWIW, I’m inclined to agree with your interpretation. The DM and another player feel that the 1 satisfies the disadvantage and then it can be rerolled, possibly improving on the 3. It’s only happened once in nine months of playing this character. As such, the more generous reading prolly won’t break anything.
The passage in the rules addresses your exact question. If you have disadvantage and roll a 1 and a 13, you re-roll the 1. So, if your new roll is an 8, you now have an 8 and a 13.
I’m not sure the passage in the rules addresses my question. It specifies how many 1’s I can reroll, not when the reroll is considered.
FWIW, I’m inclined to agree with your interpretation. The DM and another player feel that the 1 satisfies the disadvantage and then it can be rerolled, possibly improving on the 3. It’s only happened once in nine months of playing this character. As such, the more generous reading prolly won’t break anything.
I'd consider that a bad faith argument tbh. And it doesn't even hold up ruleswise IMO. As soon as the "1" is chosen as the roll then it's time to add modifiers and compare to the DC, the time for a re-roll has passed.
They got away from the critfail, expecting it to also allow them to get away from the disadvantage is just cheesing it...
I’m not sure the passage in the rules addresses my question. It specifies how many 1’s I can reroll, not when the reroll is considered.
FWIW, I’m inclined to agree with your interpretation. The DM and another player feel that the 1 satisfies the disadvantage and then it can be rerolled, possibly improving on the 3. It’s only happened once in nine months of playing this character. As such, the more generous reading prolly won’t break anything.
I'd consider that a bad faith argument tbh. And it doesn't even hold up ruleswise IMO. As soon as the "1" is chosen as the roll then it's time to add modifiers and compare to the DC, the time for a re-roll has passed.
They got away from the critfail, expecting it to also allow them to get away from the disadvantage is just cheesing it...
It’s my character. I thought I was stuck with the 3. The DM and another player felt I was not. I expected nothing. No one cheesed anything. Kindly discuss the rules without attributing intent to players you’ve never met in a scenario you were not a part of, thanks.
I’m not sure the passage in the rules addresses my question. It specifies how many 1’s I can reroll, not when the reroll is considered.
FWIW, I’m inclined to agree with your interpretation. The DM and another player feel that the 1 satisfies the disadvantage and then it can be rerolled, possibly improving on the 3. It’s only happened once in nine months of playing this character. As such, the more generous reading prolly won’t break anything.
The re-roll happens before (dis)advantage resolves - we gave you the rules block (twice!) saying so. :)
The order of operations per the rules are as follows, for disadvantage and Lucky:
1) Roll Disadvantage: Dice come up 1 and 3
2) Reroll one per Lucky (choosing the 1): Dice comes up 8
3) You now have a 3 and an 8 at disadvantage, so the end result is you use the 3 (applying modifiers as needed). The rules describe the process of determining the advantage/disadvantage after all rolls are made (otherwise the section regarding the Lucky trait would not need to give you the choice of which die to reroll)
If you had rolled a 1 and a 20 in step one, and the 8 in step two, you'd have an 8 in step three (the lower of 8 and 20)
I recommend taking the lucky feat which specifically lets you choose which die to use, turning disadvantage into super advantage.
That is arguably true for the feat, but not true for the Halfling trait the OP asked about
Yeah, that is why I recommended it. Unlike the halfling trait, the feat foes what the OP wants because of specific language it has that the trait lacks.
It is both supporting evidence for the discussion as well as a helpful suggestion.
What happens when my halfling rolls a natural 1 and something else, say a 3, when rolling with disadvantage? I’m lucky and get to reroll 1’s but I’m not sure the order of it all. Is it considered that the 1 is my worse roll to satisfy the disadvantage and then I’m a halfling who gets to reroll the 1 and keep that result, even if it’s higher than the 3, or is it that I’m a halfling who rerolls the 1 and then compares that result to the 3, meaning I’m pretty much stuck with the 3, to satisfy the disadvantage? Do I compare the natural 1 to the other roll before or after the reroll?
Lucky for you this feature is specifically spelled out in the Player's Handbook:
But yeah, if you have disadvantage and roll a 3 and a 1, you're going to end up with a 3 at best.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
phb p173:
When you have advantage or disadvantage and
something in the game, such as the halfling's Lucky
trait, lets you re-roll the d20, you can re-roll only one
of the dice. You choose which one. For example, if a
halfling has advantage on an ability check and rolls
a 1and a 13, the halfling could use the Lucky trait to
re-roll the I.
I’m not sure the passage in the rules addresses my question. It specifies how many 1’s I can reroll, not when the reroll is considered.
FWIW, I’m inclined to agree with your interpretation. The DM and another player feel that the 1 satisfies the disadvantage and then it can be rerolled, possibly improving on the 3. It’s only happened once in nine months of playing this character. As such, the more generous reading prolly won’t break anything.
The passage in the rules addresses your exact question. If you have disadvantage and roll a 1 and a 13, you re-roll the 1. So, if your new roll is an 8, you now have an 8 and a 13.
I recommend taking the lucky feat which specifically lets you choose which die to use, turning disadvantage into super advantage.
I'd consider that a bad faith argument tbh. And it doesn't even hold up ruleswise IMO. As soon as the "1" is chosen as the roll then it's time to add modifiers and compare to the DC, the time for a re-roll has passed.
They got away from the critfail, expecting it to also allow them to get away from the disadvantage is just cheesing it...
It’s my character. I thought I was stuck with the 3. The DM and another player felt I was not. I expected nothing. No one cheesed anything. Kindly discuss the rules without attributing intent to players you’ve never met in a scenario you were not a part of, thanks.
The re-roll happens before (dis)advantage resolves - we gave you the rules block (twice!) saying so. :)
The order of operations per the rules are as follows, for disadvantage and Lucky:
1) Roll Disadvantage: Dice come up 1 and 3
2) Reroll one per Lucky (choosing the 1): Dice comes up 8
3) You now have a 3 and an 8 at disadvantage, so the end result is you use the 3 (applying modifiers as needed). The rules describe the process of determining the advantage/disadvantage after all rolls are made (otherwise the section regarding the Lucky trait would not need to give you the choice of which die to reroll)
If you had rolled a 1 and a 20 in step one, and the 8 in step two, you'd have an 8 in step three (the lower of 8 and 20)
That is arguably true for the feat, but not true for the Halfling trait the OP asked about
Yeah, that is why I recommended it. Unlike the halfling trait, the feat foes what the OP wants because of specific language it has that the trait lacks.
It is both supporting evidence for the discussion as well as a helpful suggestion.