My DM claims that a creature that takes up more than 1 square can move its base size, thus a huge-sized creature that takes up 3 spaces per side with a movement of 30' is traveling 90' per round, meaning that every second of movement it is moving the distance of its base. A large-sized creature with a 10'x10' are of 30' movement would be traveling 60' per round. Is there such a rule?
"If a medium creature takes a 5' "space" and can move 30' that's "six spaces""
"So if a Large creature takes a 10' "space" and can move 30', and if 30' equals "six spaces" then for that creature the movement is actually 60' (similarly with huge, etc). "
but that ignores that 30' =/= six "spaces" when the "spaces" are 10x10 (it would be three "spaces").
That's a logical leap the game does not expect you to make (because it is faulty logic that eventually gets to "30' = 60'" or "30' = 90'"). Creatures have travel distances measured in feet, not "spaces". The size of the creature is irrelevant to its movement speed.
I agree with the ft based in the stat blocks but what about spells that change your size such as a Goblin going from the small size to a large size due either a spell or a feat? Is there anything for this or should it be left to the DM's ruling?
I agree with the ft based in the stat blocks but what about spells that change your size such as a Goblin going from the small size to a large size due either a spell or a feat? Is there anything for this or should it be left to the DM's ruling?
I agree with the ft based in the stat blocks but what about spells that change your size such as a Goblin going from the small size to a large size due either a spell or a feat? Is there anything for this or should it be left to the DM's ruling?
Unless the feat/spell/effect explicitly changes the creatures speed, then the speed doesn't change. So said goblin with 30 feet of movement still has 30 feet of movement whether it is medium/large/small/tiny/huge/gargantuan, unless the spell/feat/effect also changes its speed
My DM claims that a creature that takes up more than 1 square can move its base size, thus a huge-sized creature that takes up 3 spaces per side with a movement of 30' is traveling 90' per round, meaning that every second of movement it is moving the distance of its base. A large-sized creature with a 10'x10' are of 30' movement would be traveling 60' per round. Is there such a rule?
Sounds like a) the DM's rule b) the DM's is making up as he goes.
Everyone else has said this the correct answer that feet does not equal spaces, but as a DM that also ruled it this way until I got into chases with larger creatures, it is confusing moving those creatures considering you then have to decide which part of the creature lands on which square within your movement. (i.e. If a gargantuan creature has a move speed of 30ft, does the closest edge or the furthest edge stop at 30ft? Does the middle stop there? If the middle stops there, do you also measure from the middle? etc.) Yes, that's overthinking it a bit I can't lie, but overthinking is like 80% of DM'ing and what anyone .
In conclusion, I'm sure you've moved on after 5 years, but if anyone else reads this: a) The DM ruling is final, but don't be afraid to communicate b) if you don't like it ran that way, don't run it that way when you DM c) Just be kind and if your DM is crappy about it, advocate for yourself and leave
It doesn't matter if you measure from the front or middle what matters is that you use the same point for the measuring. Can't use the front to start and the back to end movement.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
My DM claims that a creature that takes up more than 1 square can move its base size, thus a huge-sized creature that takes up 3 spaces per side with a movement of 30' is traveling 90' per round, meaning that every second of movement it is moving the distance of its base. A large-sized creature with a 10'x10' are of 30' movement would be traveling 60' per round. Is there such a rule?
No. The speed in the statblock is the speed the monster has. That's it.
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
It sounds like the DM is saying:
"If a medium creature takes a 5' "space" and can move 30' that's "six spaces""
"So if a Large creature takes a 10' "space" and can move 30', and if 30' equals "six spaces" then for that creature the movement is actually 60' (similarly with huge, etc). "
but that ignores that 30' =/= six "spaces" when the "spaces" are 10x10 (it would be three "spaces").
That's a logical leap the game does not expect you to make (because it is faulty logic that eventually gets to "30' = 60'" or "30' = 90'"). Creatures have travel distances measured in feet, not "spaces". The size of the creature is irrelevant to its movement speed.
Speed is listed in feet. That's how many feet they can move. There is no reference to "squares" or size.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
I thank you for your speedy reply. It's what I thought, but I had to be sure that there wasn't some variant rule from one of the source books.
I agree with the ft based in the stat blocks but what about spells that change your size such as a Goblin going from the small size to a large size due either a spell or a feat? Is there anything for this or should it be left to the DM's ruling?
I agree with the ft based in the stat blocks but what about spells that change your size such as a Goblin going from the small size to a large size due either a spell or a feat? Is there anything for this or should it be left to the DM's ruling?
Unless the feat/spell/effect explicitly changes the creatures speed, then the speed doesn't change. So said goblin with 30 feet of movement still has 30 feet of movement whether it is medium/large/small/tiny/huge/gargantuan, unless the spell/feat/effect also changes its speed
The area a creature takes up has nothing to do with its speed.
Try to enlarge an ally or two to get extra movement and see how long the DM keeps that interpretation. :-D
Sounds like a) the DM's rule b) the DM's is making up as he goes.
Everyone else has said this the correct answer that feet does not equal spaces, but as a DM that also ruled it this way until I got into chases with larger creatures, it is confusing moving those creatures considering you then have to decide which part of the creature lands on which square within your movement. (i.e. If a gargantuan creature has a move speed of 30ft, does the closest edge or the furthest edge stop at 30ft? Does the middle stop there? If the middle stops there, do you also measure from the middle? etc.) Yes, that's overthinking it a bit I can't lie, but overthinking is like 80% of DM'ing and what anyone .
In conclusion, I'm sure you've moved on after 5 years, but if anyone else reads this: a) The DM ruling is final, but don't be afraid to communicate b) if you don't like it ran that way, don't run it that way when you DM c) Just be kind and if your DM is crappy about it, advocate for yourself and leave
It doesn't matter if you measure from the front or middle what matters is that you use the same point for the measuring. Can't use the front to start and the back to end movement.