I can't find anything in the actual rules, though its very likely if its there, I'm overlooking it. But if I were the DM and a player really wanted to use a scroll in combat I would allow it but possibly make it a bonus action to take the scroll out of a scroll bandolier to help with action economy issues. It would still be an action to use the spell scroll and according to the official rules the spell has to be part of your class' spell list. But if you meet those requirements I would totally let that happen. You might find yourself going through money quite quickly for those scrolls but honestly what else are you gonna spend your money on?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
~If I were a D&D race it would be an Aarakocra, because when I DM I usually wingit.~
You have a free action on your turn which can be used to do things like draw equipped items (swords, etc). Basically, anything "on your person" can be immediately grabbed and used as a free action when you take an action (including bonus, reaction, etc) or as part of your movement (like picking something off the floor as you pass by it).
The use of the scroll is part of the action/etc necessary for the casting of it.
Basically: if the scroll is on you, not in a bag etc, you can use the scroll and that use will be whatever the spell needs for casting. A scroll with a Reaction spell like Shield spell can be used as a Reaction, a scroll with a Bonus Action spell like Shield of Faith can be used as a Bonus Action, and scrolls with an Action spell like Mage Armor can be used as an Action.
There is no effect on Action Enemy: this is the whole point of scrolls: there is no difference between the use of a scroll or a normal casting of a spell beyond the fact the scroll is used instead of your spell slots (and scrolls don't need to be prepared etc).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Yep, the free action will allow you to get the scroll ready, then the normal action (or bunus, reaction, etc) to read it and cast the spell. I like the idea of a scroll carrying spell-slinger. Saves on spell slots.
It is a free action to pull out a scroll and whatever the casting time of said spell on the scroll to cast it. I really love the concept of a scroll bandolier!!!
When Geas is cast on a target ! will Dispel Magic work to cure it..the Geas spell only lists Remove curse, Greater restoration and Wish as cures..thought that maybe the Gease spell was created before the Dispel magic spell..?
Excellent! So with this in mind, it would require a free hand to draw the scroll using a free action. If you had a weapon in one hand and a shield in the other, you would have to drop one?
Excellent! So with this in mind, it would require a free hand to draw the scroll using a free action. If you had a weapon in one hand and a shield in the other, you would have to drop one?
Yes, you could drop your sword (I think shields require actions to start wielding or remove). And by drop, I means drop, which will be frowned upon by some DMs (dropping those kinds of objects is not typically a safe thing to do nor conducive to their longevity). I'd ask your DM to see whether any consequences would deter you from trying it.
I can't remember if you can give your sword to your shield hand to hold, though. You can with two-handed weapons - hold them with one hand while your other hand does something else - but I'm not sure about wearing a shield.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
Thank you for your input. I often use a bit of narrative flair when dropping a weapon like describing that my character has stabbed it into the ground in front of him with the hilt in the air.
I have another question though. Does drawing the scroll from your belt or bandolier require a free action before using your action to cast it? Or is it considered a part of the action used to cast it?
The problem with your narrative is that it could trigger an Action (it's not a simple.drop, you're actually doing something that requires attention) and in real life would damage the sword - possibly worse than just dropping it. Depends on your DM really though. If they're happy with you doing that...then it's all good. Just don't be surprised if you play with another DM and they're not as charitable.
If it's on your belt, bandolier, etc, it's a free action. If it's in your bag, then it's an action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
I have another question though. Does drawing the scroll from your belt or bandolier require a free action before using your action to cast it? Or is it considered a part of the action used to cast it?
A free action is considered "part" of a Move or an Action. For instance drawing a sword can be a free action as part of the Attack Action. It ultimately makes no difference though.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Just keep in mind that this free action is once per turn. If you pull out a scroll, you would need to use your action to draw/stow a weapon, open a door, or do any other object interactions that are covered by that free action. I would also classify transferring your weapon to your shield hand as an interaction with an object.
The problem with your narrative is that it could trigger an Action (it's not a simple.drop, you're actually doing something that requires attention) and in real life would damage the sword - possibly worse than just dropping it. Depends on your DM really though. If they're happy with you doing that...then it's all good. Just don't be surprised if you play with another DM and they're not as charitable.
If it's on your belt, bandolier, etc, it's a free action. If it's in your bag, then it's an action.
And in some games picking up your sword from the ground is not a free action either even if RAW it is.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
So could a sorcerer write a fireball scroll with the quickened feat, then in combat cast it as a bonus action then cast a magic action fireball? Only one of the spells consumes one of his slots.
So could a sorcerer write a fireball scroll with the quickened feat, then in combat cast it as a bonus action then cast a magic action fireball? Only one of the spells consumes one of his slots.
The rules for scribing scrolls varies across books, so I'll reference them all:
2014 DMG - No, you don't cast the spell into the scroll so it's casting time can't be modified this way
Xanathar's Guide to Everything - No, again you don't cast the spell to make the scroll, so modifying it's casting time does nothing
2024 PHB - No as once again you don't cast the spell as part of crafting
Is there a draw action or anything if using spell scrolls in combat? want use a scroll bandolier type thing if possible
I can't find anything in the actual rules, though its very likely if its there, I'm overlooking it. But if I were the DM and a player really wanted to use a scroll in combat I would allow it but possibly make it a bonus action to take the scroll out of a scroll bandolier to help with action economy issues. It would still be an action to use the spell scroll and according to the official rules the spell has to be part of your class' spell list. But if you meet those requirements I would totally let that happen. You might find yourself going through money quite quickly for those scrolls but honestly what else are you gonna spend your money on?
~If I were a D&D race it would be an Aarakocra, because when I DM I usually wing it.~
You have a free action on your turn which can be used to do things like draw equipped items (swords, etc). Basically, anything "on your person" can be immediately grabbed and used as a free action when you take an action (including bonus, reaction, etc) or as part of your movement (like picking something off the floor as you pass by it).
The use of the scroll is part of the action/etc necessary for the casting of it.
Basically: if the scroll is on you, not in a bag etc, you can use the scroll and that use will be whatever the spell needs for casting. A scroll with a Reaction spell like Shield spell can be used as a Reaction, a scroll with a Bonus Action spell like Shield of Faith can be used as a Bonus Action, and scrolls with an Action spell like Mage Armor can be used as an Action.
There is no effect on Action Enemy: this is the whole point of scrolls: there is no difference between the use of a scroll or a normal casting of a spell beyond the fact the scroll is used instead of your spell slots (and scrolls don't need to be prepared etc).
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I totally forgot about free action. Thanks for the reminder.
~If I were a D&D race it would be an Aarakocra, because when I DM I usually wing it.~
Yep, the free action will allow you to get the scroll ready, then the normal action (or bunus, reaction, etc) to read it and cast the spell. I like the idea of a scroll carrying spell-slinger. Saves on spell slots.
It is a free action to pull out a scroll and whatever the casting time of said spell on the scroll to cast it. I really love the concept of a scroll bandolier!!!
Check out my YouTube channel where I give DMing advice!!! https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3I2kTgXD2X9U1GVDCYwoYg?view_as=subscriber
I also am a professional DM contact me through Discord for more information KahlylRoberson#8891
When Geas is cast on a target ! will Dispel Magic work to cure it..the Geas spell only lists Remove curse, Greater restoration and Wish as cures..thought that maybe the Gease spell was created before the Dispel magic spell..?
Nope, only Remove Curse, Greater Resto and Wish can remove it, per RAW. It's in the PHB along with Dispel Magic, they were created at the same time
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Excellent! So with this in mind, it would require a free hand to draw the scroll using a free action. If you had a weapon in one hand and a shield in the other, you would have to drop one?
Yes, you could drop your sword (I think shields require actions to start wielding or remove). And by drop, I means drop, which will be frowned upon by some DMs (dropping those kinds of objects is not typically a safe thing to do nor conducive to their longevity). I'd ask your DM to see whether any consequences would deter you from trying it.
I can't remember if you can give your sword to your shield hand to hold, though. You can with two-handed weapons - hold them with one hand while your other hand does something else - but I'm not sure about wearing a shield.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
Thank you for your input. I often use a bit of narrative flair when dropping a weapon like describing that my character has stabbed it into the ground in front of him with the hilt in the air.
I have another question though. Does drawing the scroll from your belt or bandolier require a free action before using your action to cast it? Or is it considered a part of the action used to cast it?
The problem with your narrative is that it could trigger an Action (it's not a simple.drop, you're actually doing something that requires attention) and in real life would damage the sword - possibly worse than just dropping it. Depends on your DM really though. If they're happy with you doing that...then it's all good. Just don't be surprised if you play with another DM and they're not as charitable.
If it's on your belt, bandolier, etc, it's a free action. If it's in your bag, then it's an action.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
A free action is considered "part" of a Move or an Action. For instance drawing a sword can be a free action as part of the Attack Action. It ultimately makes no difference though.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Just keep in mind that this free action is once per turn. If you pull out a scroll, you would need to use your action to draw/stow a weapon, open a door, or do any other object interactions that are covered by that free action. I would also classify transferring your weapon to your shield hand as an interaction with an object.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
And in some games picking up your sword from the ground is not a free action either even if RAW it is.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
So could a sorcerer write a fireball scroll with the quickened feat, then in combat cast it as a bonus action then cast a magic action fireball? Only one of the spells consumes one of his slots.
The rules for scribing scrolls varies across books, so I'll reference them all:
2014 DMG - No, you don't cast the spell into the scroll so it's casting time can't be modified this way
Xanathar's Guide to Everything - No, again you don't cast the spell to make the scroll, so modifying it's casting time does nothing
2024 PHB - No as once again you don't cast the spell as part of crafting
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
I like the 2024 ruling. Thanks
They're all the same.........
Find my D&D Beyond articles here