So my rogue strikes with a dagger. That is the main action.
Rogue has Dual Wielder 4h level feat so can use Rapier as the bonus action.
However we had Nick with the dagger so it says we can roll up that Rapier attack into the main action.
Great, so now we have a bonus action back again. Obviously I could use it for regular things.
But I assume the intention is that dual wielder lets me stow one weapon, pull out a 3rd light weapon, perhaps a dagger or shortsword and use the bonus action on that.
OR am I over thinking it, and I could just hit again with the Rapier since i have dual wielder.
So my rogue strikes with a dagger. That is the main action.
Rogue has Dual Wielder 4h level feat so can use Rapier as the bonus action.
However we had Nick with the dagger so it says we can roll up that Rapier attack into the main action.
Great, so now we have a bonus action back again. Obviously I could use it for regular things.
But I assume the intention is that dual wielder lets me stow one weapon, pull out a 3rd light weapon, perhaps a dagger or shortsword and use the bonus action on that.
OR am I over thinking it, and I could just hit again with the Rapier since i have dual wielder.
While I'm not convinced this is RAI, RAW says you can use the rapier for both the extra attack from Nick and the extra attack from Dual Wielder. They both say they have to be a different weapon from the weapon you used for the main attack, but there's nothing saying they have to be different from each other.
There is an extra attack from the Light. This extra attack must use a different Light weapon. This can be moved from a Bonus Action to part of the Attack action with the Nick Mastery.
Then there is an extra attack from Dual Wielder. This requires you to attack to attack after attacking with a Light weapon, but the extra attack is not from the Light property. This extra attack does not have to be a light weapon as long as it is not a Two-handed weapon. This is not affected by Nick.
The Rogue strikes with a dagger. The rogue can then, if they have one, attack with a different light weapon as part of the attack action. The rapier attack from Dual Wielder still needs a Bonus Action to activate. There are no inherent object interactions built into the Bonus Action attack from Dual Wielder, but you get one free object interaction per turn and one or two during the Attack Action. This could look like: start dual wielding daggers, attack with Dagger 1, sheath it, attack with Dagger 2, draw Rapier, bonus action attack with Rapier.
The interaction between Light, Nick and Dual Wielder has been explained by @SmiteMakesRight_3_5. Rapier has the Finesse property, not the Light one.
But I'd like to say some scenarios could be invalid or simply different if we consider Nick to be activated when you attack with that weapon for the Light additional attack. That's my opinion on this site (some relevant threads shared below), but not everyone agrees, so it's best to ask your DM or table to avoid surprises.
This could look like: start dual wielding daggers, attack with Dagger 1, sheath it, attack with Dagger 2, draw Rapier, bonus action attack with Rapier.
This makes a lot more sense. Weapon mastery is supposed to help you, not invalidate the Dual Wielder, so this works great, thanks!
The interaction between Light, Nick and Dual Wielder has been explained by @SmiteMakesRight_3_5. Rapier has the Finesse property, not the Light one.
But I'd like to say some scenarios could be invalid or simply different if we consider Nick to be activated when you attack with that weapon for the Light additional attack. That's my opinion on this site (some relevant threads shared below), but not everyone agrees, so it's best to ask your DM or table to avoid surprises.
The interaction between Light, Nick and Dual Wielder has been explained by @SmiteMakesRight_3_5. Rapier has the Finesse property, not the Light one. But I'd like to say some scenarios could be invalid or simply different if we consider Nick to be activated when you attack with that weapon for the Light additional attack. That's my opinion on this site (some relevant threads shared below), but not everyone agrees, so it's best to ask your DM or table to avoid surprises.
To be safe in these discussions, I either assume 2 daggers or don't specify weapons and just say "if Nick Mastery applies".
You're a clever guy ;)
PS. No problem at all with the formatting! I think the spoiler section was causing the issue.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So my rogue strikes with a dagger. That is the main action.
Rogue has Dual Wielder 4h level feat so can use Rapier as the bonus action.
However we had Nick with the dagger so it says we can roll up that Rapier attack into the main action.
Great, so now we have a bonus action back again. Obviously I could use it for regular things.
But I assume the intention is that dual wielder lets me stow one weapon, pull out a 3rd light weapon, perhaps a dagger or shortsword and use the bonus action on that.
OR am I over thinking it, and I could just hit again with the Rapier since i have dual wielder.
While I'm not convinced this is RAI, RAW says you can use the rapier for both the extra attack from Nick and the extra attack from Dual Wielder. They both say they have to be a different weapon from the weapon you used for the main attack, but there's nothing saying they have to be different from each other.
pronouns: he/she/they
There is an extra attack from the Light. This extra attack must use a different Light weapon. This can be moved from a Bonus Action to part of the Attack action with the Nick Mastery.
Then there is an extra attack from Dual Wielder. This requires you to attack to attack after attacking with a Light weapon, but the extra attack is not from the Light property. This extra attack does not have to be a light weapon as long as it is not a Two-handed weapon. This is not affected by Nick.
The Rogue strikes with a dagger. The rogue can then, if they have one, attack with a different light weapon as part of the attack action. The rapier attack from Dual Wielder still needs a Bonus Action to activate. There are no inherent object interactions built into the Bonus Action attack from Dual Wielder, but you get one free object interaction per turn and one or two during the Attack Action. This could look like: start dual wielding daggers, attack with Dagger 1, sheath it, attack with Dagger 2, draw Rapier, bonus action attack with Rapier.
How to add Tooltips.
5e 2024 "Nick" weapon + Shadow blade combo - Rules & Game Mechanics
This makes a lot more sense. Weapon mastery is supposed to help you, not invalidate the Dual Wielder, so this works great, thanks!
To be safe in these discussions, I either assume 2 daggers or don't specify weapons and just say "if Nick Mastery applies".
Sorry about the quote formatting. It's hard to fix on my phone.Edit: Fixed Formatting.
How to add Tooltips.
Not your fault, it's hard to fix everywhere. That's how it is when they cheapskate and go with a crappy software...
You're a clever guy ;)
PS. No problem at all with the formatting! I think the spoiler section was causing the issue.