I’m playing a character with Blindsight to 10ft. If I grapple a creature and move them so that I’m in a Heavily Obscured area and they are not, does that creature have Disadvantage on all attacks? Disadvantage on all attacks against my allies due to Grappled condition and Disadvantage on attacks to me due to Blinded condition (assuming they lack an ability to see into the Heavily Obscured area)?
That's correct moving your grappled target outside a Heavily Obscured area means it would have the Blinded condition when trying to see something there.
I’m playing a character with Blindsight to 10ft. If I grapple a creature and move them so that I’m in a Heavily Obscured area and they are not, does that creature have Disadvantage on all attacks? Disadvantage on all attacks against my allies due to Grappled condition and Disadvantage on attacks to me due to Blinded condition (assuming they lack an ability to see into the Heavily Obscured area)?
The creature would have disadvantage just for being grappled anyway. But if you move the creature and release them into a heavily obscured area, that would also trigger disadvantage again, unless like mentioned, other means of seeing.
If I grapple a creature and move them so that I’m in a Heavily Obscured area and they are not, does that creature have Disadvantage on all attacks? Disadvantage on all attacks against my allies due to Grappled condition and Disadvantage on attacks to me due to Blinded condition (assuming they lack an ability to see into the Heavily Obscured area)?
Yes, this is correct.
Consider a light source with a certain radius that sheds bright light and then dim light surrounds that and then Darkness surrounds that. Assume that your enemy does not have darkvision. If you were to grapple this enemy and then position yourselves such that you are within the Darkness and your enemy is still within the nearby dim light, then your enemy would indeed have disadvantage to attack you since you are in a Heavily Obscured area. But when you attack that enemy you would have no such penalty since that enemy is within the dim light so you can see that enemy well enough.
Thanks! While I don’t think it changes anything, my plan wasn’t to release the creature in the fog, but to hold it just outside so my party could attack it without Disadvantage on their attacks. I was thinking the fog would be a nice counter to the Grappled condition not giving Disadvantage to attacks it made against me, the grappler.
I just wasn’t sure if it was possible to be in my square (inside the fog) and drag a creature I grappled into a position such that their square was outside the fog.
That's correct moving your grappled target within a Heavily Obscured area means it would have the Blinded condition when trying to see something there.
Whether or not a creature is actually within the Heavily Obscured space has no impact on whether or not it has the Blinded Condition. It only matters if the creature is trying to see something there.
I’m playing a character with Blindsight to 10ft. If I grapple a creature and move them so that I’m in a Heavily Obscured area and they are not, does that creature have Disadvantage on all attacks? Disadvantage on all attacks against my allies due to Grappled condition and Disadvantage on attacks to me due to Blinded condition (assuming they lack an ability to see into the Heavily Obscured area)?
The creature would have disadvantage just for being grappled anyway. But if you move the creature and release them into a heavily obscured area, that would also trigger disadvantage again, unless like mentioned, other means of seeing.
This is not correct. A grappled creature does not have disadvantage to attack the grappler.
Creature in Heavily Obscured area have Disadvantage on attack rolls against anyone wether Grappledor not.
But as long as it has Speed 0 it can't move out by itself so its better not to release it after you drag it within.
This is not correct.
Whether or not a creature is actually within the Heavily Obscured space has no impact on whether or not it has the Blinded Condition. It only matters if the creature is trying to see something there.
Heavily Obscured
You have the Blinded condition while trying to see something in a Heavily Obscured space.
A Heavily Obscured area . . . You have the Blinded condition (see the Rules Glossary) when trying to see something there.
You're free to disagree and rule differently but for me if you're within an Heavily Obscured area such as Fog Cloud you don't see anything regardless where you're trying to see because your vision is obscured while there.
Likewise, you can't see into Heavily Obscured area fog while outside because it's opaque and you can't see through.
Thanks! While I don’t think it changes anything, my plan wasn’t to release in the fog, but to hold just outside so my party could attack it without Disadvantage on their attacks.
I just wasn’t sure if it was possible to be in my square (inside the fog) and drag a creature I grappled into a position such that their square was outside the fog.
The grappler can drag or carry a Grappled creature when it moves, which in this case can't see you within the fog once you drag it out.
This is one of the more common rules scenarios that I've found to really frustrate people, especially when the grappler has reach. People want to attack whatever limb/tentacle/appendage is holding them because that is what happens in every single fantasy movie and book, but the rules say you can only see and attack the "body." This really annoys some people, and if your DM is one of them it is well within their power to start throwing you into situations that confound this tactic in one way or another.
[...] I just wasn’t sure if it was possible to be in my square (inside the fog) and drag a creature I grappled into a position such that their square was outside the fog.
I agree with the answers given by Plaguescarred, including the ones about vision, Heavily Obscured areas, and the Blinded condition, and I'd like to explain that this is also correct because "A creature belongs to a size category, which determines the width of the square space the creature occupies on a map, as shown on the Creature Size and Space table."
So assuming in your scenario both creatures are Medium, your 5 by 5 feet square is inside the fog and their 5 by 5 feet square is outside, as you're saying. In other words, grappling doesn't make both creatures share the same square/space.
In terms of grappling, you are right. A grappled creature has disadvantage on attack rolls against anyone except the grappler. If you can get the creature to Restrained, then it has disadvantage on all attack rolls.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I’m playing a character with Blindsight to 10ft. If I grapple a creature and move them so that I’m in a Heavily Obscured area and they are not, does that creature have Disadvantage on all attacks? Disadvantage on all attacks against my allies due to Grappled condition and Disadvantage on attacks to me due to Blinded condition (assuming they lack an ability to see into the Heavily Obscured area)?
That's correct moving your grappled target outside a Heavily Obscured area means it would have the Blinded condition when trying to see something there.
EDIT For clarity
The creature would have disadvantage just for being grappled anyway. But if you move the creature and release them into a heavily obscured area, that would also trigger disadvantage again, unless like mentioned, other means of seeing.
Creature in Heavily Obscured area have Disadvantage on attack rolls against anyone wether Grappled or not.
But as long as it has Speed 0 it can't move out by itself so its better not to release it after you drag it within.
Yes, this is correct.
Consider a light source with a certain radius that sheds bright light and then dim light surrounds that and then Darkness surrounds that. Assume that your enemy does not have darkvision. If you were to grapple this enemy and then position yourselves such that you are within the Darkness and your enemy is still within the nearby dim light, then your enemy would indeed have disadvantage to attack you since you are in a Heavily Obscured area. But when you attack that enemy you would have no such penalty since that enemy is within the dim light so you can see that enemy well enough.
Thanks! While I don’t think it changes anything, my plan wasn’t to release the creature in the fog, but to hold it just outside so my party could attack it without Disadvantage on their attacks. I was thinking the fog would be a nice counter to the Grappled condition not giving Disadvantage to attacks it made against me, the grappler.
I just wasn’t sure if it was possible to be in my square (inside the fog) and drag a creature I grappled into a position such that their square was outside the fog.
Whether or not a creature is actually within the Heavily Obscured space has no impact on whether or not it has the Blinded Condition. It only matters if the creature is trying to see something there.
This is not correct. A grappled creature does not have disadvantage to attack the grappler.
This is not correct.
Whether or not a creature is actually within the Heavily Obscured space has no impact on whether or not it has the Blinded Condition. It only matters if the creature is trying to see something there.
You're free to disagree and rule differently but for me if you're within an Heavily Obscured area such as Fog Cloud you don't see anything regardless where you're trying to see because your vision is obscured while there.
Likewise, you can't see into Heavily Obscured area fog while outside because it's opaque and you can't see through.
The grappler can drag or carry a Grappled creature when it moves, which in this case can't see you within the fog once you drag it out.
This is one of the more common rules scenarios that I've found to really frustrate people, especially when the grappler has reach. People want to attack whatever limb/tentacle/appendage is holding them because that is what happens in every single fantasy movie and book, but the rules say you can only see and attack the "body." This really annoys some people, and if your DM is one of them it is well within their power to start throwing you into situations that confound this tactic in one way or another.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
I agree with the answers given by Plaguescarred, including the ones about vision, Heavily Obscured areas, and the Blinded condition, and I'd like to explain that this is also correct because "A creature belongs to a size category, which determines the width of the square space the creature occupies on a map, as shown on the Creature Size and Space table."
So assuming in your scenario both creatures are Medium, your 5 by 5 feet square is inside the fog and their 5 by 5 feet square is outside, as you're saying. In other words, grappling doesn't make both creatures share the same square/space.
Yeah grappling creature still occupy their own respective space or square(s).
In terms of grappling, you are right. A grappled creature has disadvantage on attack rolls against anyone except the grappler. If you can get the creature to Restrained, then it has disadvantage on all attack rolls.