No, Saga. The problem is that longstrider doesn't give you new forms of movement, and you cannot tell whether a creature has a 0 ft. movement speed because it doesn't have ground-based locomotion or just coincidentally.
"Not having ground-based locomotion" does not mean "unable to benefit from increases to ground speed." There is no mechanical difference between "it doesn't have ground-based locomotion" and "just coincidentally." This is the key point: there is no rule that says these are different.
You also can't tell if "speed" means "walking speed" or more generally "speed" or "all of your speeds" because it is used as any of those in the rules, and each would give a different result if you add 10' to it.
It makes no difference to this issue. Either the whale's ground speed and swim speed are increased by 10 feet or just its ground speed is. That's a sincere ambiguity when the whale is in the water, but that's not what we're talking about.
Again, no, you are assuming in each of these. If you choose to assume in your answer that is fine for your ruling at your table, but doesn't make it "correct."
There is no rule that says "an increase to speed means an increase to ground speed." There is an assumption implicit to your statement.
"On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed." Speed here clearly means something different than either "each of your individual movement speeds" or "your walking speed." You have assumed that "speed" in longstrider is one that fits your reading, but that is an assumption.
Both of your statements discounting my counterarguments use implicit assumptions.
Let me re-iterate my actual position here: I think to make a ruling in either direction, you have to make some assumption.
No, Saga. The problem is that longstrider doesn't give you new forms of movement, and you cannot tell whether a creature has a 0 ft. movement speed because it doesn't have ground-based locomotion or just coincidentally.
"Not having ground-based locomotion" does not mean "unable to benefit from increases to ground speed." There is no mechanical difference between "it doesn't have ground-based locomotion" and "just coincidentally." This is the key point: there is no rule that says these are different.
You also can't tell if "speed" means "walking speed" or more generally "speed" or "all of your speeds" because it is used as any of those in the rules, and each would give a different result if you add 10' to it.
It makes no difference to this issue. Either the whale's ground speed and swim speed are increased by 10 feet or just its ground speed is. That's a sincere ambiguity when the whale is in the water, but that's not what we're talking about.
Again, no, you are assuming in each of these. If you choose to assume in your answer that is fine, but doesn't make it "correct."
There is no rule that says "an increase to speed means an increase to ground speed." There is an assumption implicit to your statement.
"On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed." Speed here clearly means something different than either "each of your individual movement speeds" or "your walking speed." You have assumed that "speed" in longstrider is one that fits your reading, but that is an assumption.
Both of your statements discounting my counterarguments use implicit assumptions.
"Speed" in a vacuum always at least means "walking speed." This is clear from the PHB's explanation of speed in chapter 8. Sometimes "speed" means more than that! Longstridermay also increase swim speed, fly speed, etc. That's an interesting question that's worth discussing. It's also not relevant to this discussion. I am not assuming anything when I say that "speed," without adornment, definitely includes walking speed, because that is the literal rule as written in the PHB.
"Speed" in a vacuum always at least means "walking speed." This is clear from the PHB's explanation of speed in chapter 8. Sometimes "speed" means more than that! Longstridermay also increase swim speed, fly speed, etc. That's an interesting question that's worth discussing. It's also not relevant to this discussion. I am not assuming anything when I say that "speed," without adornment, definitely includes walking speed, because that is the literal rule as written in the PHB.
That conflicts with how the term is actually used in the rest of the rules, including in Chapter 9. "You can't stand up if you don't have enough movement left or if your speed is 0." Your reading implies that all creatures with 0' walking speed would be stuck prone forever. On the other hand, apparently the intent is that "half your speed" means "half your highest speed." That certainly isn't consistent. And it certainly is not entirely consistent with what you've said.
And again, you are assuming that "speed" here means what your reading requires because you must assume something. The rules use the same term in different ways. In fact, you discounted one just because it didn't fit your reading in this response.
"Speed" in a vacuum always at least means "walking speed." This is clear from the PHB's explanation of speed in chapter 8. Sometimes "speed" means more than that! Longstridermay also increase swim speed, fly speed, etc. That's an interesting question that's worth discussing. It's also not relevant to this discussion. I am not assuming anything when I say that "speed," without adornment, definitely includes walking speed, because that is the literal rule as written in the PHB.
That conflicts with how the term is actually used in the rest of the rules, including in Chapter 9. "You can't stand up if you don't have enough movement left or if your speed is 0." Your reading implies that all creatures with 0' walking speed would be stuck prone forever. On the other hand, apparently the intent is that "half your speed" means "half your highest speed." That certainly isn't consistent. And it certainly is not entirely consistent with what you've said.
And again, you are assuming that "speed" here means what your reading requires because you must assume something. The rules use the same term in different ways. In fact, you discounted one just because it didn't fit your reading in this response.
No, man. You are assuming that those instances do not mean walking speed despite the PHB and the Monster Manual both being very clear that “speed” means walking speed.
I’m very comfortable making the assumption that speed in the rules for being prone, grappling, etc. means “all speeds” and not just walking speed. But that is an assumption. The one thing that requires no assumptions, the one that thing that is strictly RAW, is that every instance of “speed” means at least “walking speed.”
There is nowhere where it says that "speed means at least walking speed." You are taking an inconsistency of the language used in the rules and inventing an explanation for it.
The sentence actually says "All creatures have a walking speed, simply called the monster’s speed." That sentence is inconsistent with other sentences in the rulebooks that use the word speed. To reconcile those, you must make some assumptions.
There is nowhere where it says that "speed means at least walking speed." You are taking an inconsistency of the language used in the rules and inventing an explanation for it.
The sentence actually says "All creatures have a walking speed, simply called the monster’s speed." That sentence is inconsistent with other sentences in the rulebooks that use the word speed. To reconcile those, you must make some assumptions.
There are at least two places where it says "speed means walking speed." I'm adding "at least" because there are situations where reading it strictly creates situations that cannot possibly be intended; like I said, I'm comfortable making the assumption that prone, etc. do not just mean "walking speed." But they do mean walking speed, because the rules straight-up say they do.
The sentence you quoted isn't inconsistent with anything unless you start from the assumption that it isn't true. Nowhere in the rules does it ever say (or even imply) that "speed" does not mean "walking speed." You're begging the question.
There is nowhere where it says that "speed means at least walking speed." You are taking an inconsistency of the language used in the rules and inventing an explanation for it.
The sentence actually says "All creatures have a walking speed, simply called the monster’s speed." That sentence is inconsistent with other sentences in the rulebooks that use the word speed. To reconcile those, you must make some assumptions.
There are at least two places where it says "speed means walking speed." I'm adding "at least" because there are situations where reading it strictly creates situations that cannot possibly be intended; like I said, I'm comfortable making the assumption that prone, etc. do not just mean "walking speed." But they do mean walking speed, because the rules straight-up say they do.
The sentence you quoted isn't inconsistent with anything unless you start from the assumption that it isn't true. Nowhere in the rules does it ever say (or even imply) that "speed" does not mean "walking speed." You're begging the question.
You don't have to start from the assumption that it isn't true when the text provides that it cannot be true. It is not an assumption if it is proved. The rules certainly do use the word speed in the sentence "A monster’s speed tells you how far it can move on its turn." which is completely inconsistent with speed meaning "walking speed" or "at least walking speed" or any possible meaning in terms of game mechanics other than one consistent with “the distance a creature can move on its turn” such as "the highest speed listed for any form of locomotion that the creature has." There is no other mechanically consistent reading of that sentence.
The word "speed" is used inconsistently throughout the rules. That is not an assumption. Sure the rules tell you what it means, but then they go on to not follow that meaning. Any attempt to pin a definite single meaning on it (or even some umbrella term over it) relies on some assumption. I am simply pointing that out. I actually don't disagree with your ruling; I disagree with your assertion that it is the only one a person could make.
It is up to the DM according to RAW. "You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if the new form is physically capable of doing so."
The emphasis is mine, but it is up to the DM whether the creature would be physically capable of using the longstrider feature.
It is up to the DM according to RAW. "You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if the new form is physically capable of doing so."
The emphasis is mine, but it is up to the DM whether the creature would be physically capable of using the longstrider feature.
Longstrider is a spell, not a class/race/etc. feature. The line you’ve quoted is entirely irrelevant to the discussion.
It is up to the DM according to RAW. "You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if the new form is physically capable of doing so."
The emphasis is mine, but it is up to the DM whether the creature would be physically capable of using the longstrider feature.
Longstrider is a spell, not a class/race/etc. feature. The line you’ve quoted is entirely irrelevant to the discussion.
Not really. They are saying that the druid knows how to walk retains that knowledge even as a whale. However since the whale cannot walk as a bipedal person, the druid does not know how to walk as a whale. And I think they are arguing that therefore they wouldn't even with something like Longstrider.
The counter is that they do know how to crawl, roll and in theory (particularly if they have experience in snake forms) slither. Therefore they know forms of locomotion that might still apply to whales.
Except that only applies to that class feature, not spells, so it is in fact completely irrelevant. You may think “they are arguing that therefore they wouldn't even with something like Longstrider” but there is 0.00% any RAW to back that up.
Yes, 100% if you cast Longstrider on a beached whale it’s walking speed increases from 0 ft., to 10 ft.
It is up to the DM according to RAW. "You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if the new form is physically capable of doing so."
The emphasis is mine, but it is up to the DM whether the creature would be physically capable of using the longstrider feature.
Longstrider is a spell, not a class/race/etc. feature. The line you’ve quoted is entirely irrelevant to the discussion.
Not really. They are saying that the druid knows how to walk retains that knowledge even as a whale. However since the whale cannot walk as a bipedal person, the druid does not know how to walk as a whale. And I think they are arguing that therefore they wouldn't even with something like Longstrider.
The counter is that they do know how to crawl, roll and in theory (particularly if they have experience in snake forms) slither. Therefore they know forms of locomotion that might still apply to whales.
That’s not what they’re saying. What they’re saying is that wild shape allows the druid to retain benefits of humanoid features they have from race, class, etc. if they’re physiologically capable of doing so, and it’s up to the DM to decide whether or not the wild-shaped form is physiologically capable of doing so. And they’re right about that. I’d argue quite strongly that a druid would NOT retain the benefit of their humanoid walking speed while in whale form.
But there is zero interaction between that part of the wild shape rules and spells like longstrider, because longstrider is a spell, not a “feature.”
but my two cents are that longstrider would add 10 ft to any walking speed, even if that speed is 0 ft normally (this is because all creatures are listed with a walking speed as described in the MM, so this would not be adding a “new” speed). I understand the discussion regarding whale anatomy and the means for ground locomotion, but this is magic; anatomy and physiology are kind of moot. Unless they errata or clarify this further, that’s my ruling
It is up to the DM according to RAW. "You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if the new form is physically capable of doing so."
The emphasis is mine, but it is up to the DM whether the creature would be physically capable of using the longstrider feature.
Longstrider is a spell, not a class/race/etc. feature. The line you’ve quoted is entirely irrelevant to the discussion.
Not really. They are saying that the druid knows how to walk retains that knowledge even as a whale. However since the whale cannot walk as a bipedal person, the druid does not know how to walk as a whale. And I think they are arguing that therefore they wouldn't even with something like Longstrider.
The counter is that they do know how to crawl, roll and in theory (particularly if they have experience in snake forms) slither. Therefore they know forms of locomotion that might still apply to whales.
That’s not what they’re saying. What they’re saying is that wild shape allows the druid to retain benefits of humanoid features they have from race, class, etc. if they’re physiologically capable of doing so, and it’s up to the DM to decide whether or not the wild-shaped form is physiologically capable of doing so. And they’re right about that. I’d argue quite strongly that a druid would NOT retain the benefit of their humanoid walking speed while in whale form.
But there is zero interaction between that part of the wild shape rules and spells like longstrider, because longstrider is a spell, not a “feature.”
If something literally cannot walk, has no ground locomotive capacity at all, does the spell grant such? It is commonly agreed that it does not allow a creature not otherwise capable of flight to fly 10' per round. So if a creature is not otherwise capable of ground movement, does it give them ground movement?
Technically, taking the spell literally, it accelerates the target 10' per round whether they are capable of it or not and whether they want to move or not. That would be the plain English interpretation of 'The target's speed increases by 10 feet,' however it seems really unlikely that is what is intended by the spell.
No, because it is already RAW that any creature does not have to move up to its maximum speed in any turn.
And if a whale had a walking speed of “—“ then it would have “no ground locomotive capacity at all” but it doesn’t. It has a walking speed of “0” which means it has a means of ground locomotion, it just can’t go anywhere.
You’re assuming that “0 walking speed = no walking speed,” which is the mistake. If a creature had a Flying Speed of 0 ft., then absolutely Longstrider would make that 0 a 10. There is a difference between a speed of 0, and no speed at all.
And if a whale had a walking speed of “—“ then it would have “no ground locomotive capacity at all” but it doesn’t. It has a walking speed of “0” which means it has a means of ground locomotion, it just can’t go anywhere.
You’re assuming that “0 walking speed = no walking speed,” which is the mistake. If a creature had a Flying Speed of 0 ft., then absolutely Longstrider would make that 0 a 10. There is a difference between a speed of 0, and no speed at all.
But unfortunately that assertion is a mistake to make, because according to the rules "Creatures that have no form of ground-based locomotion have a walking speed of 0 feet."
Even if you can't say "0 walking speed => no ground based movement" you can say "no ground based movement => 0 walking speed" and unfortunately, we cannot tell what creatures fall into the category of "0 walking speed because they just can't go anywhere" or "0 walking speed because they have no form of ground locomotion."
So then the question is "can every creature (even those without a form of ground locomotion) benefit from a bonus to ground speed?" That is where reasonable minds could differ.
And if a whale had a walking speed of “—“ then it would have “no ground locomotive capacity at all” but it doesn’t. It has a walking speed of “0” which means it has a means of ground locomotion, it just can’t go anywhere.
You’re assuming that “0 walking speed = no walking speed,” which is the mistake. If a creature had a Flying Speed of 0 ft., then absolutely Longstrider would make that 0 a 10. There is a difference between a speed of 0, and no speed at all.
But unfortunately that assertion is a mistake to make, because according to the rules "Creatures that have no form of ground-based locomotion have a walking speed of 0 feet."
Even if you can't say "0 walking speed => no ground based movement" you can say "no ground based movement => 0 walking speed" and unfortunately, we cannot tell what creatures fall into the category of "0 walking speed because they just can't go anywhere" or "0 walking speed because they have no form of ground locomotion."
So then the question is "can every creature (even those without a form of ground locomotion) benefit from a bonus to ground speed?" That is where reasonable minds could differ.
The answer is yes, because that’s what the spell says. If you have a speed, it adds 10 ft to it. Anatomy, ability, etc is moot. All creatures list a speed, specifically called out in the MM rules as a walking speed. Since they have a listed speed, they get the 10 ft., period
And if a whale had a walking speed of “—“ then it would have “no ground locomotive capacity at all” but it doesn’t. It has a walking speed of “0” which means it has a means of ground locomotion, it just can’t go anywhere.
You’re assuming that “0 walking speed = no walking speed,” which is the mistake. If a creature had a Flying Speed of 0 ft., then absolutely Longstrider would make that 0 a 10. There is a difference between a speed of 0, and no speed at all.
But unfortunately that assertion is a mistake to make, because according to the rules "Creatures that have no form of ground-based locomotion have a walking speed of 0 feet."
Even if you can't say "0 walking speed => no ground based movement" you can say "no ground based movement => 0 walking speed" and unfortunately, we cannot tell what creatures fall into the category of "0 walking speed because they just can't go anywhere" or "0 walking speed because they have no form of ground locomotion."
So then the question is "can every creature (even those without a form of ground locomotion) benefit from a bonus to ground speed?" That is where reasonable minds could differ.
The answer is yes, because that’s what the spell says. If you have a speed, it adds 10 ft to it. Anatomy, ability, etc is moot. All creatures list a speed, specifically called out in the MM rules as a walking speed. Since they have a listed speed, they get the 10 ft., period
Again, reasonable minds could certainly differ on that.
There are enough creatures with a walking speed of 0 that a written exception would be expected in the spell description if the spell didn’t affect listed walking speeds of 0. This isn’t like this is an edge case where such an oversight might be expected (maybe I’m giving the writers too much credit, but this would be a huge oversight on their part, unlike most of the edge cases we discuss here)
And if a whale had a walking speed of “—“ then it would have “no ground locomotive capacity at all” but it doesn’t. It has a walking speed of “0” which means it has a means of ground locomotion, it just can’t go anywhere.
You’re assuming that “0 walking speed = no walking speed,” which is the mistake. If a creature had a Flying Speed of 0 ft., then absolutely Longstrider would make that 0 a 10. There is a difference between a speed of 0, and no speed at all.
But unfortunately that assertion is a mistake to make, because according to the rules "Creatures that have no form of ground-based locomotion have a walking speed of 0 feet."
Even if you can't say "0 walking speed => no ground based movement" you can say "no ground based movement => 0 walking speed" and unfortunately, we cannot tell what creatures fall into the category of "0 walking speed because they just can't go anywhere" or "0 walking speed because they have no form of ground locomotion."
So then the question is "can every creature (even those without a form of ground locomotion) benefit from a bonus to ground speed?" That is where reasonable minds could differ.
The answer is yes, because that’s what the spell says. If you have a speed, it adds 10 ft to it. Anatomy, ability, etc is moot. All creatures list a speed, specifically called out in the MM rules as a walking speed. Since they have a listed speed, they get the 10 ft., period
Again, reasonable minds could certainly differ on that.
Certainly, but one side is using the RAW explanation (spells do what they say they do) and one is homebrewing additional, unprinted requirements. That’s ok, but you have to recognize it
And if a whale had a walking speed of “—“ then it would have “no ground locomotive capacity at all” but it doesn’t. It has a walking speed of “0” which means it has a means of ground locomotion, it just can’t go anywhere.
You’re assuming that “0 walking speed = no walking speed,” which is the mistake. If a creature had a Flying Speed of 0 ft., then absolutely Longstrider would make that 0 a 10. There is a difference between a speed of 0, and no speed at all.
But unfortunately that assertion is a mistake to make, because according to the rules "Creatures that have no form of ground-based locomotion have a walking speed of 0 feet."
Even if you can't say "0 walking speed => no ground based movement" you can say "no ground based movement => 0 walking speed" and unfortunately, we cannot tell what creatures fall into the category of "0 walking speed because they just can't go anywhere" or "0 walking speed because they have no form of ground locomotion."
So then the question is "can every creature (even those without a form of ground locomotion) benefit from a bonus to ground speed?" That is where reasonable minds could differ.
The answer is yes, because that’s what the spell says. If you have a speed, it adds 10 ft to it. Anatomy, ability, etc is moot. All creatures list a speed, specifically called out in the MM rules as a walking speed. Since they have a listed speed, they get the 10 ft., period
Again, reasonable minds could certainly differ on that.
Certainly, but one side is using the RAW explanation (spells do what they say they do) and one is homebrewing additional, unprinted requirements. That’s ok, but you have to recognize it
Again, reasonable minds could differ on that. What does it matter if you have a speed of 10' if you have no ability to move? Or are you saying that the spell does something other than it says? Because then you certainly couldn't say RAW was on your side.
Again, no, you are assuming in each of these. If you choose to assume in your answer that is fine for your ruling at your table, but doesn't make it "correct."
There is no rule that says "an increase to speed means an increase to ground speed." There is an assumption implicit to your statement.
"On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed." Speed here clearly means something different than either "each of your individual movement speeds" or "your walking speed." You have assumed that "speed" in longstrider is one that fits your reading, but that is an assumption.
Both of your statements discounting my counterarguments use implicit assumptions.
Let me re-iterate my actual position here: I think to make a ruling in either direction, you have to make some assumption.
"Speed" in a vacuum always at least means "walking speed." This is clear from the PHB's explanation of speed in chapter 8. Sometimes "speed" means more than that! Longstrider may also increase swim speed, fly speed, etc. That's an interesting question that's worth discussing. It's also not relevant to this discussion. I am not assuming anything when I say that "speed," without adornment, definitely includes walking speed, because that is the literal rule as written in the PHB.
That conflicts with how the term is actually used in the rest of the rules, including in Chapter 9. "You can't stand up if you don't have enough movement left or if your speed is 0." Your reading implies that all creatures with 0' walking speed would be stuck prone forever. On the other hand, apparently the intent is that "half your speed" means "half your highest speed." That certainly isn't consistent. And it certainly is not entirely consistent with what you've said.
And again, you are assuming that "speed" here means what your reading requires because you must assume something. The rules use the same term in different ways. In fact, you discounted one just because it didn't fit your reading in this response.
No, man. You are assuming that those instances do not mean walking speed despite the PHB and the Monster Manual both being very clear that “speed” means walking speed.
I’m very comfortable making the assumption that speed in the rules for being prone, grappling, etc. means “all speeds” and not just walking speed. But that is an assumption. The one thing that requires no assumptions, the one that thing that is strictly RAW, is that every instance of “speed” means at least “walking speed.”
There is nowhere where it says that "speed means at least walking speed." You are taking an inconsistency of the language used in the rules and inventing an explanation for it.
The sentence actually says "All creatures have a walking speed, simply called the monster’s speed." That sentence is inconsistent with other sentences in the rulebooks that use the word speed. To reconcile those, you must make some assumptions.
“Bonuses/penalties to speed apply to your speeds in general, unless the text specifies walking, flying, etc.” - Jeremy Crawford
Longstrider says that “The target’s speed increases by 10 feet“ compare to boots of speed that reads, “the boots double your walking speed.”
so longstrider does definitely apply to walking swimming flying burrowing etc.
Learning is power, power corrupts, study hard be Evil.
There are at least two places where it says "speed means walking speed." I'm adding "at least" because there are situations where reading it strictly creates situations that cannot possibly be intended; like I said, I'm comfortable making the assumption that prone, etc. do not just mean "walking speed." But they do mean walking speed, because the rules straight-up say they do.
The sentence you quoted isn't inconsistent with anything unless you start from the assumption that it isn't true. Nowhere in the rules does it ever say (or even imply) that "speed" does not mean "walking speed." You're begging the question.
You don't have to start from the assumption that it isn't true when the text provides that it cannot be true. It is not an assumption if it is proved. The rules certainly do use the word speed in the sentence "A monster’s speed tells you how far it can move on its turn." which is completely inconsistent with speed meaning "walking speed" or "at least walking speed" or any possible meaning in terms of game mechanics other than one consistent with “the distance a creature can move on its turn” such as "the highest speed listed for any form of locomotion that the creature has." There is no other mechanically consistent reading of that sentence.
The word "speed" is used inconsistently throughout the rules. That is not an assumption. Sure the rules tell you what it means, but then they go on to not follow that meaning. Any attempt to pin a definite single meaning on it (or even some umbrella term over it) relies on some assumption. I am simply pointing that out. I actually don't disagree with your ruling; I disagree with your assertion that it is the only one a person could make.
Reasonable minds can differ.
It is up to the DM according to RAW. "You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if the new form is physically capable of doing so."
The emphasis is mine, but it is up to the DM whether the creature would be physically capable of using the longstrider feature.
Longstrider is a spell, not a class/race/etc. feature. The line you’ve quoted is entirely irrelevant to the discussion.
Except that only applies to that class feature, not spells, so it is in fact completely irrelevant. You may think “they are arguing that therefore they wouldn't even with something like Longstrider” but there is 0.00% any RAW to back that up.
Yes, 100% if you cast Longstrider on a beached whale it’s walking speed increases from 0 ft., to 10 ft.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
That’s not what they’re saying. What they’re saying is that wild shape allows the druid to retain benefits of humanoid features they have from race, class, etc. if they’re physiologically capable of doing so, and it’s up to the DM to decide whether or not the wild-shaped form is physiologically capable of doing so. And they’re right about that. I’d argue quite strongly that a druid would NOT retain the benefit of their humanoid walking speed while in whale form.
But there is zero interaction between that part of the wild shape rules and spells like longstrider, because longstrider is a spell, not a “feature.”
This has already been pretty thoroughly discussed here: https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/dungeons-dragons-discussion/rules-game-mechanics/77330-longstrider-on-a-creature-with-no-walking-speed
but my two cents are that longstrider would add 10 ft to any walking speed, even if that speed is 0 ft normally (this is because all creatures are listed with a walking speed as described in the MM, so this would not be adding a “new” speed). I understand the discussion regarding whale anatomy and the means for ground locomotion, but this is magic; anatomy and physiology are kind of moot. Unless they errata or clarify this further, that’s my ruling
No, because it is already RAW that any creature does not have to move up to its maximum speed in any turn.
And if a whale had a walking speed of “—“ then it would have “no ground locomotive capacity at all” but it doesn’t. It has a walking speed of “0” which means it has a means of ground locomotion, it just can’t go anywhere.
You’re assuming that “0 walking speed = no walking speed,” which is the mistake. If a creature had a Flying Speed of 0 ft., then absolutely Longstrider would make that 0 a 10. There is a difference between a speed of 0, and no speed at all.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
But unfortunately that assertion is a mistake to make, because according to the rules "Creatures that have no form of ground-based locomotion have a walking speed of 0 feet."
Even if you can't say "0 walking speed => no ground based movement" you can say "no ground based movement => 0 walking speed" and unfortunately, we cannot tell what creatures fall into the category of "0 walking speed because they just can't go anywhere" or "0 walking speed because they have no form of ground locomotion."
So then the question is "can every creature (even those without a form of ground locomotion) benefit from a bonus to ground speed?" That is where reasonable minds could differ.
The answer is yes, because that’s what the spell says. If you have a speed, it adds 10 ft to it. Anatomy, ability, etc is moot. All creatures list a speed, specifically called out in the MM rules as a walking speed. Since they have a listed speed, they get the 10 ft., period
Again, reasonable minds could certainly differ on that.
There are enough creatures with a walking speed of 0 that a written exception would be expected in the spell description if the spell didn’t affect listed walking speeds of 0. This isn’t like this is an edge case where such an oversight might be expected (maybe I’m giving the writers too much credit, but this would be a huge oversight on their part, unlike most of the edge cases we discuss here)
Certainly, but one side is using the RAW explanation (spells do what they say they do) and one is homebrewing additional, unprinted requirements. That’s ok, but you have to recognize it
Again, reasonable minds could differ on that. What does it matter if you have a speed of 10' if you have no ability to move? Or are you saying that the spell does something other than it says? Because then you certainly couldn't say RAW was on your side.