You brandish the weapon used in the spell’s casting and make a melee attack with it against one creature within 5 feet of you. On a hit, the target suffers the weapon attack’s normal effects and then becomes sheathed in booming energy until the start of your next turn. If the target willingly moves 5 feet or more before then, the target takes 1d8 thunder damage, and the spell ends.
This is similar to the Gem Dragon wording. Is it safe for me to assume that this spell will work fine, enough though my attack reach is 15'?
The spell says 5 ft, so your weapon's reach is irrelevant.
Well, it is, because the spell is cast "on the weapon".
No. It isn't.
The spell is cast on you hence why the range is "self". The spell effect allows you to make a melee attack to a creature within 5 ft of you. So, no matter the weapon, you can only use the attack granted by the spell against a creature within 5 ft.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Keep in mind that Booming Blade was actually errata'd for pretty much this exact purpose. The original version of Booming Blade wasn't as restrictive, but exactly how the spell works has been altered explicitly so it couldn't be combined with reach weapons.
The spell says 5 ft, so your weapon's reach is irrelevant.
Well, it is, because the spell is cast "on the weapon".
D&D has an essential rule called Specific Beats General. The general rule is that your weapon has a reach of 15 feet. However, BB has a specific rule that you make a melee attack on a creature within 5 feet. The specific rule overrides the general one. This is a special melee attack that must be done in the way in which the spell demands for the spell to work.
BB was written this way because applying it at reach makes it a LOT stronger against melee enemies. It is not intended to be that strong, although you can still exploit it in a similar way with the Mobile feat, Cunning Action Disengage, and similar tricks.
Keep in mind that Booming Blade was actually errata'd for pretty much this exact purpose. The original version of Booming Blade wasn't as restrictive, but exactly how the spell works has been altered explicitly so it couldn't be combined with reach weapons.
The spell is cast on you hence why the range is "self". The spell effect allows you to make a melee attack to a creature within 5 ft of you. So, no matter the weapon, you can only use the attack granted by the spell against a creature within 5 ft.
The spell has range/area of "self (5ft sphere)" which means it originates from you (the caster) and has a 5ft range. It targets the thing you hit with the "brandish" and can only target something within 5ft, regardless of the weapon's reach.
You brandish the weapon used in the spell’s casting and make a melee attack with it against one creature within 5 feet of you. On a hit, the target suffers the weapon attack’s normal effects and then becomes sheathed in booming energy until the start of your next turn. If the target willingly moves 5 feet or more before then, the target takes 1d8 thunder damage, and the spell ends.
This is similar to the Gem Dragon wording. Is it safe for me to assume that this spell will work fine, enough though my attack reach is 15'?
The spell says 5 ft, so your weapon's reach is irrelevant.
Well, it is, because the spell is cast "on the weapon".
No. It isn't.
The spell is cast on you hence why the range is "self". The spell effect allows you to make a melee attack to a creature within 5 ft of you. So, no matter the weapon, you can only use the attack granted by the spell against a creature within 5 ft.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Keep in mind that Booming Blade was actually errata'd for pretty much this exact purpose. The original version of Booming Blade wasn't as restrictive, but exactly how the spell works has been altered explicitly so it couldn't be combined with reach weapons.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
D&D has an essential rule called Specific Beats General. The general rule is that your weapon has a reach of 15 feet. However, BB has a specific rule that you make a melee attack on a creature within 5 feet. The specific rule overrides the general one. This is a special melee attack that must be done in the way in which the spell demands for the spell to work.
BB was written this way because applying it at reach makes it a LOT stronger against melee enemies. It is not intended to be that strong, although you can still exploit it in a similar way with the Mobile feat, Cunning Action Disengage, and similar tricks.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
Also, what weapon has a reach of 15ft? That's massive! The longest reach on the weapon chart is 10ft.
Maybe they're playing a bugbear?
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
Which is 🐂💩.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
The spell has range/area of "self (5ft sphere)" which means it originates from you (the caster) and has a 5ft range. It targets the thing you hit with the "brandish" and can only target something within 5ft, regardless of the weapon's reach.
Yes, he's a Bugbear.
Yeah, my DM said the same thing today, 5'. It's funny how I can still attack with a Glaive at 5". :)
I do have a couple of other weapons which I can use with the spell anyway. And I will be getting MOBILE, so that will work.