An open discussion came up with my player who is using a Ranger and making use of the Two-Weapon Fighting Bonus Action with two Shortswords that I would like to see if I'm interpreting the rules correctly.
The players were going through Players and came across these two lines in the Combat Chapter with "INTERACTING WITH OBJECTS AROUND YOU" and "Other Activity on Your Turn" sections.
"You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of an attack. When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action. This action is also useful when you want to interact with more than one object on your turn."
"You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack."
His question was if during the opening round of combat would he be able to get the Two-Weapon Fighting Bonus Action since he would be drawing a sword but based on the lines in Players he could only interact with one object during that turn so he would not be able to draw the second sword.
I interpret the rule in the following scenario
1) Both Shortswords are drawn - Normal Attack Action + Two-Weapon Fighting Bonus Action 2) One Shortswords is drawn - Draw second shortsword + Normal Attack Action + Two-Weapon Fighting Bonus Action 3) No weapon drawn - Draw first shortsword + Normal Attack Action 4) One Shortsword is drawn but other hand holding torch - Drop torch + Draw first shortsword + Normal Attack Action + Two-Weapon Fighting Bonus Action.
I think I'm incorrect with #4 since the drop and draw may be considered two interactions with an object action.
Though I said to the player that he will need to be specific during movement (non-combat) holding one or two shortswords. If somehow during the gameplay how it comes out vague or no mention I'll define it has to be holding one weapon.
For point 4 you will get table variation. Nothing in the rules says that dropping an item is a "free action" but many tables rule that it is.
At my table, I allow dropping items carelessly but there will sometimes be consequences. For example, if you carelessly drop a torch onto a damp dungeon floor, it will go out. If you carefully place it down (using an object interaction) then it stays lit. For example, if you carelessly drop a weapon onto a hard stone floor then there is a chance it gets chipped or otherwise damaged.
As a small aside, next time you play at the table, give the player a heavy knife and require them to hold it in their hand for the entire evening. It might change their mind about having their character hold a sword all day as they adventure. There's a reason scabbards were invented. :-)
Your interpretation is correct (all 4. Dropping objects is not mentioned in the rules, but is generally excepted as not counting as an interaction by every rules authority).
The dual wielder feat specifically allows the player to draw 2 weapons at once.
You are correct by RAW, but this is exactly the kind of thing I hand wave away without a thought. Your Ranger wants to be a cool two weapon fighter. Just let him be. Overlooking it doesn't break the game. It brings him up to the baseline.
You can't draw two shortswords from your belt, but your buddy the fighter has no problem busting out that massive battleaxe that was strapped to his back in the same amount of time? Nah. You can be combat ready on round 1 unless you're trying to do something unusually complicated. Now everyone is happy and you can move on to enjoying the game.
An open discussion came up with my player who is using a Ranger and making use of the Two-Weapon Fighting Bonus Action with two Shortswords that I would like to see if I'm interpreting the rules correctly.
His question was if during the opening round of combat would he be able to get the Two-Weapon Fighting Bonus Action since he would be drawing a sword but based on the lines in Players he could only interact with one object during that turn so he would not be able to draw the second sword.
I interpret the rule in the following scenario
1) Both Shortswords are drawn - Normal Attack Action + Two-Weapon Fighting Bonus Action
2) One Shortswords is drawn - Draw second shortsword + Normal Attack Action + Two-Weapon Fighting Bonus Action
3) No weapon drawn - Draw first shortsword + Normal Attack Action
4) One Shortsword is drawn but other hand holding torch - Drop torch + Draw first shortsword + Normal Attack Action + Two-Weapon Fighting Bonus Action.
I think I'm incorrect with #4 since the drop and draw may be considered two interactions with an object action.
Though I said to the player that he will need to be specific during movement (non-combat) holding one or two shortswords. If somehow during the gameplay how it comes out vague or no mention I'll define it has to be holding one weapon.
Points 1, 2 and 3 are correct.
For point 4 you will get table variation. Nothing in the rules says that dropping an item is a "free action" but many tables rule that it is.
At my table, I allow dropping items carelessly but there will sometimes be consequences. For example, if you carelessly drop a torch onto a damp dungeon floor, it will go out. If you carefully place it down (using an object interaction) then it stays lit. For example, if you carelessly drop a weapon onto a hard stone floor then there is a chance it gets chipped or otherwise damaged.
As a small aside, next time you play at the table, give the player a heavy knife and require them to hold it in their hand for the entire evening. It might change their mind about having their character hold a sword all day as they adventure. There's a reason scabbards were invented. :-)
Your interpretation is correct (all 4. Dropping objects is not mentioned in the rules, but is generally excepted as not counting as an interaction by every rules authority).
The dual wielder feat specifically allows the player to draw 2 weapons at once.
You are correct by RAW, but this is exactly the kind of thing I hand wave away without a thought. Your Ranger wants to be a cool two weapon fighter. Just let him be. Overlooking it doesn't break the game. It brings him up to the baseline.
You can't draw two shortswords from your belt, but your buddy the fighter has no problem busting out that massive battleaxe that was strapped to his back in the same amount of time? Nah. You can be combat ready on round 1 unless you're trying to do something unusually complicated. Now everyone is happy and you can move on to enjoying the game.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
Thanks, everyone for the feedback. I appreciate the time you took to respond.