So, there is a rule that if you cast a spell that requires 1 bonus action, you can't cast another spell in the same turn, unless that spell is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. On the surface, this makes perfect sense. It is probably OP to be casting multiple powerful spells on your same turn. But this rule as written doesn't make much sense. Here's a couple scenarios why it doesn't:
If I am a caster who also happens to be a fighter with action surge, I can cast a 1 action spell, use action surge, and cast another 1 action spell. But if I happen to cast a bonus action spell, I can't cast a spell, other than a cantrip. with either action. How does this make sense?
However, the main reason I think this rule is poorly written is that it disallows using a reaction spell on your turn if you've already cast a spell as a bonus action. Let's say my wizard casts fireball. An NPC counterspells it. I then use my reaction to cast counterspell against the NPC's counterspell, so my fireball goes off. Rules as written, this works fine. But let's assume I cast misty step instead. If the NPC counterspells it, I can't use my reaction to cast counterspell, because it's not a cantrip costing 1 action (and it's still the same turn).
Another example: I can cast fireball, use my movement to walk off a cliff, and then cast featherfall on myself as a reaction and float harmlessly to the ground. If I were instead to misty step off a cliff, I couldn't cast featherfall on the same turn, thus I might plummet to my death.
Makes no sense to me. I think, at the very least, the rule should be rewritten to allow the casting of a reaction spell on your turn regardless of whether or not you've cast a bonus action spell. What do you all think?
So, there is a rule that if you cast a spell that requires 1 bonus action, you can't cast another spell in the same turn, unless that spell is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. On the surface, this makes perfect sense. It is probably OP to be casting multiple powerful spells on your same turn. But this rule as written doesn't make much sense. Here's a couple scenarios why it doesn't:
If I am a caster who also happens to be a fighter with action surge, I can cast a 1 action spell, use action surge, and cast another 1 action spell. But if I happen to cast a bonus action spell, I can't cast a spell, other than a cantrip. with either action. How does this make sense?
However, the main reason I think this rule is poorly written is that it disallows using a reaction spell on your turn if you've already cast a spell as a bonus action. Let's say my wizard casts fireball. An NPC counterspells it. I then use my reaction to cast counterspell against the NPC's counterspell, so my fireball goes off. Rules as written, this works fine. But let's assume I cast misty step instead. If the NPC counterspells it, I can't use my reaction to cast counterspell, because it's not a cantrip costing 1 action (and it's still the same turn).
Another example: I can cast fireball, use my movement to walk off a cliff, and then cast featherfall on myself as a reaction and float harmlessly to the ground. If I were instead to misty step off a cliff, I couldn't cast featherfall on the same turn, thus I might plummet to my death.
Makes no sense to me. I think, at the very least, the rule should be rewritten to allow the casting of a reaction spell on your turn regardless of whether or not you've cast a bonus action spell. What do you all think?
As to the reaction argument, you're confusing the term "turn" with "round."
You're unable to cast two leveled spells on your turn, but once your turn ends, for the rest of the round (everyone else's turns) you are free to cast leveled spells as long as you have a reaction to cast with. (Fun fact, the same is true for Sneak Attack. You can do it once *per turn* and other people's turns count, since it doesn't say once *until your next turn* as some abilities state).
I don't quite understand your Action Surge argument, since it basically re-states how the rule is meant to function but just plus an additional action. Here the rule is still operating as intended. Action Surge does not net you 3 leveled spells, it's only meant to allow the normal amount plus an additional (either action or spell) by design for balance purposes.
As for your Featherfall example, I wouldn't say the situation of falling off a cliff, or casting Featherfall, are ones that often come up in combat, since it is largely an environmental danger and a response to said environmental danger. When it does however happen during combat, say if you're fighting on the edge of a cliff, I'm assuming that going over the edge is probably not usually your choice. If you're being pushed or otherwise forced over the edge, then it is very likely not happening on your turn and therefore you're still free to cast Featherfall as a reaction no matter how many spells you cast on your turn.
In the unlikely event that you voluntarily jump to your death, I think it's entirely reasonable that you have to choose first whether you want to survive it or cast fireball, as that is a very risky move and you as the player are actively taking on that risk by choosing to do it. Actions have consequences and sometimes you have to make choices. I might also add that if you're jumping off a cliff to escape from the bad guys, then what does it matter that you can't fireball them? Surely you're jumping off the cliff because they've out-matched you and you'd rather chance the fall than lose the fight? And vice versa, if your fireball has a chance of taking them out, then why risk jumping off a cliff to get away from them? So in a situation where you'd voluntarily jump off a cliff on your turn in combat, I would very much consider offense a secondary concern, if one at all.
(This is all also assuming that your DM doesn't allow/maybe you're not high enough up to simply cast Fireball, jump, fall for 6 seconds till it is no longer your turn, and then cast Featherfall as a reaction on the next person's turn).
*edit*
Re-reading the rules, it looks like you can cast multiple leveled spells on your turn as long as one is a reaction. I assume the reasoning is that reaction spells take "a fraction of a second to cast" and only in certain, tightly defined circumstances, as to avoid being OP.
I can cast fireball, use my movement to walk off a cliff, and then cast featherfall on myself as a reaction and float harmlessly to the ground. If I were instead to misty step off a cliff, I couldn't cast featherfall on the same turn, thus I might plummet to my death.
If you cast Misty Step and end up falling during that same turn, you are prohibited from casting Feather Fall because you have already cast a bonus action spell and it is still the same turn. I don't know if I agree with the conclusion that this is a dumb rule, but this is a RAW application of it.
BT's point is a good one. The "intent" of the rule that the developers were working with seems to really be "if you cast a leveled spell, the only other spell you can cast that turn (if any) is a cantrip." But for some reason they pigeonholed themselves into thinking about the common situation that occurs in (Bonus Action spells), and disregarded the fact that there were many other ways to bring up the same scenario. You're left with a weird situation where Bonus Action spells are somehow harder or more resource intensive than regular Action spells, despite there being no in-game or mechanical suggestion that that's generally the case.
Poor design, because "You can't cast more than one spell a turn, unless one is a cantrip" is a much more straightforward and elegant rule that fits 5E's stated design philosophy much better than the Bonus Action spell restriction (which everyone misremembers at the table anyway).
I can cast fireball, use my movement to walk off a cliff, and then cast featherfall on myself as a reaction and float harmlessly to the ground. If I were instead to misty step off a cliff, I couldn't cast featherfall on the same turn, thus I might plummet to my death.
If you cast Misty Step and end up falling during that same turn, you are prohibited from casting Feather Fall because you have already cast a bonus action spell and it is still the same turn. I don't know if I agree with the conclusion that this is a dumb rule, but this is a RAW application of Y
Sorry BT, but you are playing with a house rule.
If you cast Misty Step, that is a bonus action and does NOT in any way prevent you from casting a Reaction spell, which is what Feather Fall is. As per RAW, you can cast Feather Fall as a reaction even if you have already cast Misty Step that round. Here is the Sage advice, found :
Is there a limit on the number of spells you can cast on your turn?
There’s no rule that says you can cast only X number of spells on your turn, but there are some practical limits. The main limiting factor is your action. Most spells require an action to cast, and unless you use a feature like the fighter’s Action Surge, you have only one action on your turn.
If you cast a spell, such as healing word, with a bonus action, you can cast another spell with your action, but that other spell must be a cantrip. Keep in mind that this particular limit is specific to spells that use a bonus action. For instance, if you cast a second spell using Action Surge, you aren’t limited to casting a cantrip with it.
As you can see the Bonus Action rule only applies to your initial action, not to anything else. You can do a bonus action and 2 or more leveled spells in the same turn.
Is in fact possible to cast upto 8 spells in a round, even without casting Time Stop. That build is ridiculous and weak, but does allows you to cast upto 3 reactions, 3 actions, and 2 bonus actions in a single round. But no one ever actually does this (Tiefling, 17 levels of Rogue (Thief), 1 level of Druid, 2 levels of Fighter).
I can cast fireball, use my movement to walk off a cliff, and then cast featherfall on myself as a reaction and float harmlessly to the ground. If I were instead to misty step off a cliff, I couldn't cast featherfall on the same turn, thus I might plummet to my death.
If you cast Misty Step and end up falling during that same turn, you are prohibited from casting Feather Fall because you have already cast a bonus action spell and it is still the same turn. I don't know if I agree with the conclusion that this is a dumb rule, but this is a RAW application of it.
Well, you just have to wait until it's not your turn anymore then you can cast it. Functionally, it makes no difference in terms of falling whether it's on your turn or immediately when the next creature in initiative order begins their turn.
DM: You cast Misty Step onto the platform, it collapses and you begin to fall 100 feet to the ground. Player: Yikes! Well, that's my turn. DM: OK, the bugbear goes next. It-- Player I cast Feather Fall as a reaction.
I can cast fireball, use my movement to walk off a cliff, and then cast featherfall on myself as a reaction and float harmlessly to the ground. If I were instead to misty step off a cliff, I couldn't cast featherfall on the same turn, thus I might plummet to my death.
If you cast Misty Step and end up falling during that same turn, you are prohibited from casting Feather Fall because you have already cast a bonus action spell and it is still the same turn. I don't know if I agree with the conclusion that this is a dumb rule, but this is a RAW application of Y
Sorry BT, but you are playing with a house rule.
If you cast Misty Step, that is a bonus action and does NOT in any way prevent you from casting a Reaction spell, which is what Feather Fall is. As per RAW, you can cast Feather Fall as a reaction even if you have already cast Misty Step that round. Here is the Sage advice, found :
Is there a limit on the number of spells you can cast on your turn?
There’s no rule that says you can cast only X number of spells on your turn, but there are some practical limits. The main limiting factor is your action. Most spells require an action to cast, and unless you use a feature like the fighter’s Action Surge, you have only one action on your turn.
If you cast a spell, such as healing word, with a bonus action, you can cast another spell with your action, but that other spell must be a cantrip. Keep in mind that this particular limit is specific to spells that use a bonus action. For instance, if you cast a second spell using Action Surge, you aren’t limited to casting a cantrip with it.
As you can see the Bonus Action rule only applies to your initial action, not to anything else. You can do a bonus action and 2 or more leveled spells in the same turn.
Is in fact possible to cast upto 8 spells in a round, even without casting Time Stop. That build is ridiculous and weak, but does allows you to cast upto 3 reactions, 3 actions, and 2 bonus actions in a single round. But no one ever actually does this (Tiefling, 17 levels of Rogue (Thief), 1 level of Druid, 2 levels of Fighter).
You are misreading both the sage advice and RAW. That sage advice does not address combinations such as bonus action spell/reaction spell, and RAW is very clear: 'You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.' Nothing about that allows casting a reaction spell.
I have read that rule 1000 times, and I still am not sure which one of you is right without looking it back up, it's like some eldritch truth which cannot long be grasped by the mind of man. No matter how it "works," the rule is too complicated and bizarre, and that's a fact.
I can cast fireball, use my movement to walk off a cliff, and then cast featherfall on myself as a reaction and float harmlessly to the ground. If I were instead to misty step off a cliff, I couldn't cast featherfall on the same turn, thus I might plummet to my death.
If you cast Misty Step and end up falling during that same turn, you are prohibited from casting Feather Fall because you have already cast a bonus action spell and it is still the same turn. I don't know if I agree with the conclusion that this is a dumb rule, but this is a RAW application of it.
Well, you just have to wait until it's not your turn anymore then you can cast it. Functionally, it makes no difference in terms of falling whether it's on your turn or immediately when the next creature in initiative order begins their turn.
DM: You cast Misty Step onto the platform, it collapses and you begin to fall 100 feet to the ground. Player: Yikes! Well, that's my turn. DM: OK, the bugbear goes next. It-- Player I cast Feather Fall as a reaction.
Is there a rule for rate of falling in 5E? I don't remember there being one. I've always played that if you're falling on your turn, you finish the fall and hit the ground before the end of the turn. I guess it might make a difference if you were falling a ridiculously long way, but otherwise I thought you hit the ground before the next turn. Which would not leave you time to cast Feather Fall.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
I completely understand the rule and the intent behind it, but it still doesn't make sense. If they wanted to limit you to one spell on your turn, they could have written the rule more clearly or added in exceptions. Such as:
Normally, you can only cast one spell on your turn. However, there are a few exceptions to this rule:
1. If you cast a spell as a bonus action, you may cast another spell as your action, but only if it is a cantrip.
2. If you have more than one action in a round (such as the fighter's action surge), you may use both actions to cast a spell that costs 1 action.
3. If you have the opportunity to cast a spell as a reaction on your turn, you may do so, even if you have already cast a spell on your turn.
Is there a rule for rate of falling in 5E? I don't remember there being one. I've always played that if you're falling on your turn, you finish the fall and hit the ground before the end of the turn. I guess it might make a difference if you were falling a ridiculously long way, but otherwise I thought you hit the ground before the next turn. Which would not leave you time to cast Feather Fall.
There certainly is such a rule concerning how fast and far you fall, but it's also kind of subjective on what all happens "at the same time" and what all happens in sequence during the course of the various turns in a round. If you're the last person in initiative order and the round ends, I can see the DM saying "You fall and go splat." My point was that reactions are weird actions that can happen at weird times so you not being able to use a reaction on your round if you have cast a bonus action spell may not be such a hindrance--at least in the case of feather fall.
I believe the general rule is when two things happen at the same time on your turn, you can decide the order of those things. In this case, the two things would be 1) ending your turn and 2) falling. I'd rule that you could end your turn first and thus then use your Reaction. Additionally, I just think on a more practical level that a player should always have control of when their turn ends.
As I recall in AD&D, each melee round was 1/10th of a minute, 6 sec. All players and monsters acted each round. Initiative order only helps you decide who acts and hits first, but it is essentially going on at the same time. So unless things have changed, a period of a second or two to some fraction of a second is all that divides the beginning of your turn and the beginning of the turn for the next 'player' to act. You wouldn't fall far in that much time. If you allowed a reaction on someone else's turn you have not already fallen for 6 seconds.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscript catapultas habebunt
As I recall in AD&D, each melee round was 1/10th of a minute, 6 sec. All players and monsters acted each round. Initiative order only helps you decide who acts and hits first, but it is essentially going on at the same time. So unless things have changed, a period of a second or two to some fraction of a second is all that divides the beginning of your turn and the beginning of the turn for the next 'player' to act. You wouldn't fall far in that much time. If you allowed a reaction on someone else's turn you have not already fallen for 6 seconds.
Each creature's turn takes 6 seconds. Rounds do not have a set duration, it varies based on the number of turns taken. However, I believe the intent is that each round is meant to be concurrent, it's just divided in order to make it easy to figure out a flow of time and break it down into the Action Economy we are all familiar with.
A turn and a round are both approximately six seconds. Although turns are played out sequentially in initiative order, an abstraction to facilitate D&D to work as a game, in the narrative of the game they occur approximately simultaneously. So regardless of however many creatures there are in a fight, three or thirty, a round describes about six seconds of time passing for everyone, and each creatures turn describes what it is doing in those six seconds.
That's more or less what I was trying to say. It gets a bit funny when a creature has already taken its turn, but then is later killed in that same round. The sequential simultaneous turns does some pretzel things to one's brain.
So, there is a rule that if you cast a spell that requires 1 bonus action, you can't cast another spell in the same turn, unless that spell is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. On the surface, this makes perfect sense. It is probably OP to be casting multiple powerful spells on your same turn. But this rule as written doesn't make much sense. Here's a couple scenarios why it doesn't:
If I am a caster who also happens to be a fighter with action surge, I can cast a 1 action spell, use action surge, and cast another 1 action spell. But if I happen to cast a bonus action spell, I can't cast a spell, other than a cantrip. with either action. How does this make sense?
However, the main reason I think this rule is poorly written is that it disallows using a reaction spell on your turn if you've already cast a spell as a bonus action. Let's say my wizard casts fireball. An NPC counterspells it. I then use my reaction to cast counterspell against the NPC's counterspell, so my fireball goes off. Rules as written, this works fine. But let's assume I cast misty step instead. If the NPC counterspells it, I can't use my reaction to cast counterspell, because it's not a cantrip costing 1 action (and it's still the same turn).
Another example: I can cast fireball, use my movement to walk off a cliff, and then cast featherfall on myself as a reaction and float harmlessly to the ground. If I were instead to misty step off a cliff, I couldn't cast featherfall on the same turn, thus I might plummet to my death.
Makes no sense to me. I think, at the very least, the rule should be rewritten to allow the casting of a reaction spell on your turn regardless of whether or not you've cast a bonus action spell. What do you all think?
As to the reaction argument, you're confusing the term "turn" with "round."
You're unable to cast two leveled spells on your turn, but once your turn ends, for the rest of the round (everyone else's turns) you are free to cast leveled spells as long as you have a reaction to cast with. (Fun fact, the same is true for Sneak Attack. You can do it once *per turn* and other people's turns count, since it doesn't say once *until your next turn* as some abilities state).
I don't quite understand your Action Surge argument, since it basically re-states how the rule is meant to function but just plus an additional action. Here the rule is still operating as intended. Action Surge does not net you 3 leveled spells, it's only meant to allow the normal amount plus an additional (either action or spell) by design for balance purposes.
As for your Featherfall example, I wouldn't say the situation of falling off a cliff, or casting Featherfall, are ones that often come up in combat, since it is largely an environmental danger and a response to said environmental danger. When it does however happen during combat, say if you're fighting on the edge of a cliff, I'm assuming that going over the edge is probably not usually your choice. If you're being pushed or otherwise forced over the edge, then it is very likely not happening on your turn and therefore you're still free to cast Featherfall as a reaction no matter how many spells you cast on your turn.
In the unlikely event that you voluntarily jump to your death, I think it's entirely reasonable that you have to choose first whether you want to survive it or cast fireball, as that is a very risky move and you as the player are actively taking on that risk by choosing to do it. Actions have consequences and sometimes you have to make choices. I might also add that if you're jumping off a cliff to escape from the bad guys, then what does it matter that you can't fireball them? Surely you're jumping off the cliff because they've out-matched you and you'd rather chance the fall than lose the fight? And vice versa, if your fireball has a chance of taking them out, then why risk jumping off a cliff to get away from them? So in a situation where you'd voluntarily jump off a cliff on your turn in combat, I would very much consider offense a secondary concern, if one at all.
(This is all also assuming that your DM doesn't allow/maybe you're not high enough up to simply cast Fireball, jump, fall for 6 seconds till it is no longer your turn, and then cast Featherfall as a reaction on the next person's turn).
*edit*
Re-reading the rules, it looks like you can cast multiple leveled spells on your turn as long as one is a reaction. I assume the reasoning is that reaction spells take "a fraction of a second to cast" and only in certain, tightly defined circumstances, as to avoid being OP.
You have misinterpreted the rule. That rule is ONLY written in the Bonus Action description and only applies to Bonus Actions, as per Sage Advice.
You can cast multiple leveled spells in one round, including all of these methods (and possibly more):
Actually, BTShire is correct in this example:
If you cast Misty Step and end up falling during that same turn, you are prohibited from casting Feather Fall because you have already cast a bonus action spell and it is still the same turn. I don't know if I agree with the conclusion that this is a dumb rule, but this is a RAW application of it.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
*Edited my original comment, definitely misunderstood the premise if the question, my bad*
BT's point is a good one. The "intent" of the rule that the developers were working with seems to really be "if you cast a leveled spell, the only other spell you can cast that turn (if any) is a cantrip." But for some reason they pigeonholed themselves into thinking about the common situation that occurs in (Bonus Action spells), and disregarded the fact that there were many other ways to bring up the same scenario. You're left with a weird situation where Bonus Action spells are somehow harder or more resource intensive than regular Action spells, despite there being no in-game or mechanical suggestion that that's generally the case.
Poor design, because "You can't cast more than one spell a turn, unless one is a cantrip" is a much more straightforward and elegant rule that fits 5E's stated design philosophy much better than the Bonus Action spell restriction (which everyone misremembers at the table anyway).
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Sorry BT, but you are playing with a house rule.
If you cast Misty Step, that is a bonus action and does NOT in any way prevent you from casting a Reaction spell, which is what Feather Fall is. As per RAW, you can cast Feather Fall as a reaction even if you have already cast Misty Step that round. Here is the Sage advice, found :
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/sac/sage-advice-compendium#Spellcasting
As you can see the Bonus Action rule only applies to your initial action, not to anything else. You can do a bonus action and 2 or more leveled spells in the same turn.
Is in fact possible to cast upto 8 spells in a round, even without casting Time Stop. That build is ridiculous and weak, but does allows you to cast upto 3 reactions, 3 actions, and 2 bonus actions in a single round. But no one ever actually does this (Tiefling, 17 levels of Rogue (Thief), 1 level of Druid, 2 levels of Fighter).
For me, the rule started to make a lot more sense when I realized the rule was written with bonus spells in mind, rather than spellcasting in general.
It's your turn, you want to cast a spell. Follow this simple flowchart.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Well, you just have to wait until it's not your turn anymore then you can cast it. Functionally, it makes no difference in terms of falling whether it's on your turn or immediately when the next creature in initiative order begins their turn.
DM: You cast Misty Step onto the platform, it collapses and you begin to fall 100 feet to the ground.
Player: Yikes! Well, that's my turn.
DM: OK, the bugbear goes next. It--
Player I cast Feather Fall as a reaction.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
You are misreading both the sage advice and RAW. That sage advice does not address combinations such as bonus action spell/reaction spell, and RAW is very clear: 'You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.' Nothing about that allows casting a reaction spell.
I have read that rule 1000 times, and I still am not sure which one of you is right without looking it back up, it's like some eldritch truth which cannot long be grasped by the mind of man. No matter how it "works," the rule is too complicated and bizarre, and that's a fact.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Is there a rule for rate of falling in 5E? I don't remember there being one. I've always played that if you're falling on your turn, you finish the fall and hit the ground before the end of the turn. I guess it might make a difference if you were falling a ridiculously long way, but otherwise I thought you hit the ground before the next turn. Which would not leave you time to cast Feather Fall.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
I completely understand the rule and the intent behind it, but it still doesn't make sense. If they wanted to limit you to one spell on your turn, they could have written the rule more clearly or added in exceptions. Such as:
Normally, you can only cast one spell on your turn. However, there are a few exceptions to this rule:
1. If you cast a spell as a bonus action, you may cast another spell as your action, but only if it is a cantrip.
2. If you have more than one action in a round (such as the fighter's action surge), you may use both actions to cast a spell that costs 1 action.
3. If you have the opportunity to cast a spell as a reaction on your turn, you may do so, even if you have already cast a spell on your turn.
There certainly is such a rule concerning how fast and far you fall, but it's also kind of subjective on what all happens "at the same time" and what all happens in sequence during the course of the various turns in a round. If you're the last person in initiative order and the round ends, I can see the DM saying "You fall and go splat." My point was that reactions are weird actions that can happen at weird times so you not being able to use a reaction on your round if you have cast a bonus action spell may not be such a hindrance--at least in the case of feather fall.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
I believe the general rule is when two things happen at the same time on your turn, you can decide the order of those things. In this case, the two things would be 1) ending your turn and 2) falling. I'd rule that you could end your turn first and thus then use your Reaction. Additionally, I just think on a more practical level that a player should always have control of when their turn ends.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
Off topic for spell casting rules, but ...
As I recall in AD&D, each melee round was 1/10th of a minute, 6 sec. All players and monsters acted each round. Initiative order only helps you decide who acts and hits first, but it is essentially going on at the same time. So unless things have changed, a period of a second or two to some fraction of a second is all that divides the beginning of your turn and the beginning of the turn for the next 'player' to act. You wouldn't fall far in that much time. If you allowed a reaction on someone else's turn you have not already fallen for 6 seconds.
Cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscript catapultas habebunt
Each creature's turn takes 6 seconds. Rounds do not have a set duration, it varies based on the number of turns taken. However, I believe the intent is that each round is meant to be concurrent, it's just divided in order to make it easy to figure out a flow of time and break it down into the Action Economy we are all familiar with.
A turn and a round are both approximately six seconds. Although turns are played out sequentially in initiative order, an abstraction to facilitate D&D to work as a game, in the narrative of the game they occur approximately simultaneously. So regardless of however many creatures there are in a fight, three or thirty, a round describes about six seconds of time passing for everyone, and each creatures turn describes what it is doing in those six seconds.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
That's more or less what I was trying to say. It gets a bit funny when a creature has already taken its turn, but then is later killed in that same round. The sequential simultaneous turns does some pretzel things to one's brain.
Oh, sorry. Didn't mean to misread you. And yeah, the abstraction can get weird with things like that.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here