This question seems to have people in two camps. Those who interpret "unable to move" to be a restriction applied to the character, and those who view "unable to move" as a lacking a capability. They, on the surface, seem to be describing the same thing, but the emphasis is on why they can't move.
Lacking a capability
-vs-
Restriction applied
Some conditions use the exact wording "unable to move" and I fall into the camp that believes if you don't have a condition or effect saying you're "unable to move" then the cloak functions fine. Even if you simply lack the capability for movement, natively, by having a speed of 0. Because having a speed of 0 isn't a restriction on your ability to move, is is simply a lack of capability for it.
So yeah, lack of capability vs restriction applied. That'll define how you view this, It seems.
Tempestuous Magic let you fly, and when you do you are moving, you are leaving space/square to enter another.
I'm not sure you can have it both ways. If Crawford's ruling (which isn't actually supported by the text, but I'll grant him the intent) is true, then Tempestuous Magic isn't moving, in the same way that being shoved isn't moving and teleporting isn't moving. If Tempestuous Magic is moving, then it must count against your movement, and you can't do it if your speed is zero.
The rules are clear: "however you're moving" you subtract the distance from your speed until you run out. If you don't subtract the distance, you definitionally are not moving in a way that the rules care about (absent text to the contrary, of course).
You're mixing up the part of your turn called "movement" with other parts of your turn, or, even other people's turns. If a bonus action lets you move, that doesn't use up your normal movement for your turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Some conditions use the exact wording "unable to move" and I fall into the camp that believes if you don't have a condition or effect saying you're "unable to move" then the cloak functions fine. Even if you simply lack the capability for movement, natively, by having a speed of 0. Because having a speed of 0 isn't a restriction on your ability to move, is is simply a lack of capability for it.
So yeah, lack of capability vs restriction applied. That'll define how you view this, It seems.
Right, but that is what Steady Aim is giving. It is giving a restriction on movement to gain a benefit.
Some conditions use the exact wording "unable to move" and I fall into the camp that believes if you don't have a condition or effect saying you're "unable to move" then the cloak functions fine. Even if you simply lack the capability for movement, natively, by having a speed of 0. Because having a speed of 0 isn't a restriction on your ability to move, is is simply a lack of capability for it.
So yeah, lack of capability vs restriction applied. That'll define how you view this, It seems.
Right, but that is what Steady Aim is giving. It is giving a restriction on movement to gain a benefit.
It isn't. Steady Aim at no point says you're "unable to move".
Steady Aim, from a narrative position, also shouldn't even be under question because what the ability represents is simply you pausing long enough to take a good shot. There is nothing actually pinning you in place. The only thing happening is your own decision not to move this turn and benefit from the momentary stillness to take a more accurate shot.
Mechanically, though, there is no restriction applied to you that prevents you from being able to move. Mechanically, you've simply given up your capability to move. You could have moved this turn if you wanted to. Nothing is preventing you. You're simply choosing not to. And, if you did have some other ability that gives you the capability to move here, you still could (like tempestuous). Because there is no "unable to move" restriction applied to you.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
If a character decides not to move on a turn does the cloak cease to function?
If a character decides to spend their turn aiming a ranged weapon does the cloak cease to function?
Consider that with Steady Aim, all the effect is doing is saying that the character uses the time they would have spent moving during the turn carefully aiming a ranged weapon. They are not "unable to move" in a colloquial English sense. They have their speed set to zero because they have spent the time they would have spent moving, carefully aiming so they are unable to move to a new location and the game enforces that requirement by setting their speed to zero. Other conditions that make a character "unable to move" explicitly state that and use that wording. Grappled and Restrained both use "speed set to zero" but restrained is explicitly called out and Grappled is not.
I am guessing that folks who would have the cloak cease to function when using Steady Aim would also have it cease to function if a creature is Grappled?
So basically having 0 speed is mechanically equivalent to being unable to move. That answers my original question.
No it isn't. There are specific conditions which say your speed is 0 and you are unable to move, and there are conditions which say your speed is 0 but do not mention that you are unable to move.
The Cloak specifically calls out two of the latter conditions to say that they also apply to disabling the cloak, as well as any other thing that says you are unable to move (which would include the former mentioned conditions without needing to specifically mention them).
If a character decides not to move on a turn does the cloak cease to function?
If a character decides to spend their turn aiming a ranged weapon does the cloak cease to function?
Consider that with Steady Aim, all the effect is doing is saying that the character uses the time they would have spent moving during the turn carefully aiming a ranged weapon. They are not "unable to move" in a colloquial English sense. They have their speed set to zero because they have spent the time they would have spent moving, carefully aiming so they are unable to move to a new location and the game enforces that requirement by setting their speed to zero. Other conditions that make a character "unable to move" explicitly state that and use that wording. Grappled and Restrained both use "speed set to zero" but restrained is explicitly called out and Grappled is not.
I am guessing that folks who would have the cloak cease to function when using Steady Aim would also have it cease to function if a creature is Grappled?
The property of a Cloak od Displacement isn't suppressed if you don't move, nor if your speed is 0.
When your speed is 0, you are not unable to move, you are unable to use your speed to move, this is the distinction to remember.
Speaking about grappled, because it make your speed 0 but otherwise doesn't make you unable to move, you can still move without relying on your speed by the Devs own admission;
@armando_doval Would using Tempestuous Magic allow you to break a grapple by moving out of the grappler's reach?
The clause, "otherwise unable to move," feels like something added to the end, to encourage a DM to be confident to make a ruling on situations where the cloak wouldn't function.
The primary "doesn't function when" is already explicitly laid out which conditions disable the cloak.
The speed zero discussion feels like overanalysis.
Consider a character with a cloak of displacement and 30' move. On their turn, they move 30' forward to engage a creature. As per the movement rules, the distance they've moved is deducted from their remaining speed. They now have a speed of zero. I don't think that moving quickly to engage a foe is something intended to disable a cloak of displacement?
Well, that's what happens when you have vague effect descriptions. At our table we still have the occasional debate whether or not the cloak would work against Blindsight, Tremorsense and/or Truesight, because the damn thing says it affects ANY CREATURE and doesn't mention that any of those senses automatically bypass it.
But thank you for the clarification Stormknight, I never considered the point you brought up, and the way you look at it, it makes perfect sense that only having 0 speed shouldn't disable the cloak.
The clause, "otherwise unable to move," feels like something added to the end, to encourage a DM to be confident to make a ruling on situations where the cloak wouldn't function.
...
The speed zero discussion feels like overanalysis.
To be fair, it's a pretty good example of a case the DM would need to make a ruling on. Most of the lengthier discussions here are debates over which DM ruling would have the best argument behind it when the rules are ambiguous.
As I said before, I think the explicit use of the wording "you can't move" in several conditions makes it distinct from "your speed is 0." But the truth is that movement is just a bit messy and we'll never have a concrete answer. For example, you can only use Steady Aim in the first place if you "haven't moved this turn." What does that mean? Does talking count? Drawing your crossbow? Dodging a readied attack via Cloak of Displacement?
As I said before, I think the explicit use of the wording "you can't move" in several conditions makes it distinct from "your speed is 0." But the truth is that movement is just a bit messy and we'll never have a concrete answer. For example, you can only use Steady Aim in the first place if you "haven't moved this turn." What does that mean? Does talking count? Drawing your crossbow? Dodging a readied attack via Cloak of Displacement?
"Moving" is a reasonably well defined game term and 100% certain doesn't apply to those cases. Talking, is not moving. Drawing a weapon, is not moving. An enemy missing you, is not you moving.
Moving is about going from one place to another place. Bodily. If you're using the grid optional rules it is about transitioning across the path between one grid and another. You'll find more info on this topic in the PHB, Chapter 9: Combat. Some can be found under the section Movement and Position. The grid variant is found at the end of this section. But, an excerpt that helps shine light on what "moving" means is this one:
Rather than moving foot by foot, move square by square on the grid.
Moving is: position changing. Either foot by foot, or square by square.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
I apologize if this has already been stated (I'm, honestly, too lazy to read this thread in its entirety). However, when you look at the Steady Aim bonus action, introduced by Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, it states that once you use Steady Aim as your bonus action, "...your speed is 0 until the end of the current turn." The question of whether it deactivates Cloak of Displacement seems like a moot differentiation to make except in the situation of reactionary attacks (opportunity attacks or an enemy having held an action to be triggered by something done on the active players' turn).
Steady Aim makes your speed 0, which turns off Cloak of Displacement's effect - attacks against the character that used Steady Aim now no longer have disadvantage imparted on them by the cloak. An attack of opportunity or triggered readied attack would get to roll against the character without disadvantage. However, if neither of these situations occur, the moment the Steady Aim character ends their turn, the Cloak of Displacement regains its ability to impart disadvantage on attacks against them until they are successfully hit or their speed is set to 0 once more.
depends on 2024 or 2014 rules and DM discretion. for 2024 "This property is suppressed while your Speed is 0" - "After you use it, your Speed is 0 until the end of the current turn." As black and white rules as written, when you are done with your actions, you would have your speed not reduced after you pass to the next person in order. It uses turn, not round or until next turn. Kinda makes you the legendary reaction target for fights. BBEG's out here like " I SWARE HE SHOT FIRST"
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Some conditions use the exact wording "unable to move" and I fall into the camp that believes if you don't have a condition or effect saying you're "unable to move" then the cloak functions fine. Even if you simply lack the capability for movement, natively, by having a speed of 0. Because having a speed of 0 isn't a restriction on your ability to move, is is simply a lack of capability for it.
So yeah, lack of capability vs restriction applied. That'll define how you view this, It seems.
You're mixing up the part of your turn called "movement" with other parts of your turn, or, even other people's turns. If a bonus action lets you move, that doesn't use up your normal movement for your turn.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Sure, so features that talk about expending movement from your movement speed wouldn't work. It's a separate feature.
Right, but that is what Steady Aim is giving. It is giving a restriction on movement to gain a benefit.
It isn't. Steady Aim at no point says you're "unable to move".
Steady Aim, from a narrative position, also shouldn't even be under question because what the ability represents is simply you pausing long enough to take a good shot. There is nothing actually pinning you in place. The only thing happening is your own decision not to move this turn and benefit from the momentary stillness to take a more accurate shot.
Mechanically, though, there is no restriction applied to you that prevents you from being able to move. Mechanically, you've simply given up your capability to move. You could have moved this turn if you wanted to. Nothing is preventing you. You're simply choosing not to. And, if you did have some other ability that gives you the capability to move here, you still could (like tempestuous). Because there is no "unable to move" restriction applied to you.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Here's another question.
If a character decides not to move on a turn does the cloak cease to function?
If a character decides to spend their turn aiming a ranged weapon does the cloak cease to function?
Consider that with Steady Aim, all the effect is doing is saying that the character uses the time they would have spent moving during the turn carefully aiming a ranged weapon. They are not "unable to move" in a colloquial English sense. They have their speed set to zero because they have spent the time they would have spent moving, carefully aiming so they are unable to move to a new location and the game enforces that requirement by setting their speed to zero. Other conditions that make a character "unable to move" explicitly state that and use that wording. Grappled and Restrained both use "speed set to zero" but restrained is explicitly called out and Grappled is not.
I am guessing that folks who would have the cloak cease to function when using Steady Aim would also have it cease to function if a creature is Grappled?
No it isn't. There are specific conditions which say your speed is 0 and you are unable to move, and there are conditions which say your speed is 0 but do not mention that you are unable to move.
The Cloak specifically calls out two of the latter conditions to say that they also apply to disabling the cloak, as well as any other thing that says you are unable to move (which would include the former mentioned conditions without needing to specifically mention them).
The property of a Cloak od Displacement isn't suppressed if you don't move, nor if your speed is 0.
When your speed is 0, you are not unable to move, you are unable to use your speed to move, this is the distinction to remember.
Speaking about grappled, because it make your speed 0 but otherwise doesn't make you unable to move, you can still move without relying on your speed by the Devs own admission;
The clause, "otherwise unable to move," feels like something added to the end, to encourage a DM to be confident to make a ruling on situations where the cloak wouldn't function.
The primary "doesn't function when" is already explicitly laid out which conditions disable the cloak.
The speed zero discussion feels like overanalysis.
Consider a character with a cloak of displacement and 30' move. On their turn, they move 30' forward to engage a creature. As per the movement rules, the distance they've moved is deducted from their remaining speed. They now have a speed of zero. I don't think that moving quickly to engage a foe is something intended to disable a cloak of displacement?
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
Well, that's what happens when you have vague effect descriptions. At our table we still have the occasional debate whether or not the cloak would work against Blindsight, Tremorsense and/or Truesight, because the damn thing says it affects ANY CREATURE and doesn't mention that any of those senses automatically bypass it.
But thank you for the clarification Stormknight, I never considered the point you brought up, and the way you look at it, it makes perfect sense that only having 0 speed shouldn't disable the cloak.
To be fair, it's a pretty good example of a case the DM would need to make a ruling on. Most of the lengthier discussions here are debates over which DM ruling would have the best argument behind it when the rules are ambiguous.
As I said before, I think the explicit use of the wording "you can't move" in several conditions makes it distinct from "your speed is 0." But the truth is that movement is just a bit messy and we'll never have a concrete answer. For example, you can only use Steady Aim in the first place if you "haven't moved this turn." What does that mean? Does talking count? Drawing your crossbow? Dodging a readied attack via Cloak of Displacement?
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
"Moving" is a reasonably well defined game term and 100% certain doesn't apply to those cases. Talking, is not moving. Drawing a weapon, is not moving. An enemy missing you, is not you moving.
Moving is about going from one place to another place. Bodily. If you're using the grid optional rules it is about transitioning across the path between one grid and another. You'll find more info on this topic in the PHB, Chapter 9: Combat. Some can be found under the section Movement and Position. The grid variant is found at the end of this section. But, an excerpt that helps shine light on what "moving" means is this one:
Moving is: position changing. Either foot by foot, or square by square.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
I apologize if this has already been stated (I'm, honestly, too lazy to read this thread in its entirety). However, when you look at the Steady Aim bonus action, introduced by Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, it states that once you use Steady Aim as your bonus action, "...your speed is 0 until the end of the current turn." The question of whether it deactivates Cloak of Displacement seems like a moot differentiation to make except in the situation of reactionary attacks (opportunity attacks or an enemy having held an action to be triggered by something done on the active players' turn).
Steady Aim makes your speed 0, which turns off Cloak of Displacement's effect - attacks against the character that used Steady Aim now no longer have disadvantage imparted on them by the cloak. An attack of opportunity or triggered readied attack would get to roll against the character without disadvantage. However, if neither of these situations occur, the moment the Steady Aim character ends their turn, the Cloak of Displacement regains its ability to impart disadvantage on attacks against them until they are successfully hit or their speed is set to 0 once more.
Am I missing something/anything else?
depends on 2024 or 2014 rules and DM discretion. for 2024 "This property is suppressed while your Speed is 0" - "After you use it, your Speed is 0 until the end of the current turn." As black and white rules as written, when you are done with your actions, you would have your speed not reduced after you pass to the next person in order. It uses turn, not round or until next turn. Kinda makes you the legendary reaction target for fights. BBEG's out here like " I SWARE HE SHOT FIRST"