Character options that were are not included are still valid (with the necessary tweaks to make them work). Rules that didn't carry over are not as easily reconciled, but if it was an optional rule already, then there is no reason you can't adapt it.
I think you are mistaking Orges (still have an entry in the MM) with Orcs (no longer have an entry in the MM, nor does any playable species in 2024). Also, I'm not sure what this second thing has to do with Sage Advice.
Could you clarify how the nick weapon mastery functions with light weapons and in what order it works in combat? For example: a character with weapon mastery for shortsword(vex) and scimitar(nick) is wielding a Shortsword and Scimitar. Do you have to attack first with The Scimitar get the extra attack with a shortsword as part of the attack action or do you have to attack with the Shortsword first and then use the Scimitar with Nick to get the second attack as part of the attack action? Are both right?
Could you clarify how the nick weapon mastery functions with light weapons and in what order it works in combat? For example: a character with weapon mastery for shortsword(vex) and scimitar(nick) is wielding a Shortsword and Scimitar. Do you have to attack first with The Scimitar get the extra attack with a shortsword as part of the attack action or do you have to attack with the Shortsword first and then use the Scimitar with Nick to get the second attack as part of the attack action? Are both right?
This question differ based on interpretation of the rules Light & Nick and WoTC hasn't provided any Sage Advice or Errata for it to settle the question so far. For some its either, for others it's second.
Personally, i rule that when you make the extra attack of the Light property with a weapon with Nick Mastery Property, you can make it as part of the Attack action instead of as a Bonus Action.
Nick applies to the Scimitar. So you Attack with the Shortsword, which allows you to activate Nick which gives you an attack with the Scimitar.
That's also my ruling, so the Nick Weapon Mastery activates when you make the Light additional attack, though RAW allows it on either attack. My understanding comes from how the articleYour Guide to Weapon Mastery in the 2024 Player's Handbook explained it:
How to Use Weapon Mastery Properties
If you’re wielding a weapon and have learned its mastery property, you’ll be able to use that mastery property every turn when you make an attack with the weapon.
To explain the Nick property, we should briefly cover that being able to attack twice while dual-wielding Light weapons has subtly changed in the 2024 Player’s Handbook. Instead of being covered under Melee Attacks, the rules for dual-wielding Light weapons are covered under the Light weapon property.
It still functions the same way: When you make an attack with a weapon that has the Light property, you can use a Bonus Action to make one attack with a different Light weapon you’re wielding.
The Nick mastery property allows you to make the additional attack you receive from wielding two Light weapons as part of the initial attack action.
Keep in mind that this doesn’t mean you can make a third attack as a Bonus Action, as the Light property specifies you only get one extra attack. But, while it may not pump your damage, this frees up your Bonus Action to use class/species abilities, such as the Rogue’s Cunning Action, while still getting an additional attack in.
EDIT: ninja'd by Plaguescarred! I'll use this edit to share some discussions from the Rules & Games Mechanics subforum regarding the Nick order:
Could you clarify how the nick weapon mastery functions with light weapons and in what order it works in combat? For example: a character with weapon mastery for shortsword(vex) and scimitar(nick) is wielding a Shortsword and Scimitar. Do you have to attack first with The Scimitar get the extra attack with a shortsword as part of the attack action or do you have to attack with the Shortsword first and then use the Scimitar with Nick to get the second attack as part of the attack action? Are both right?
This question differ based on interpretation of the rules Light & Nick and WoTC hasn't provided any Sage Advice or Errata for it to settle the question so far. For some its either, for others it's second.
Personally, i rule that when you make the extra attack of the Light property with a weapon with Nick Mastery Property, you can make it as part of the Attack action instead of as a Bonus Action.
I also rule it that way, but it's definitely "ask your DM" territory.
Could you clarify how the nick weapon mastery functions with light weapons and in what order it works in combat? For example: a character with weapon mastery for shortsword(vex) and scimitar(nick) is wielding a Shortsword and Scimitar. Do you have to attack first with The Scimitar get the extra attack with a shortsword as part of the attack action or do you have to attack with the Shortsword first and then use the Scimitar with Nick to get the second attack as part of the attack action? Are both right?
In order for you to get your second attack, you have to use the Nick weapon first, then after you use your Vex weapon you will get advantage on your next attack using your Nick weapon, then Vex. Rinse and repeat until combat ends.
Could you clarify how the nick weapon mastery functions with light weapons and in what order it works in combat? For example: a character with weapon mastery for shortsword(vex) and scimitar(nick) is wielding a Shortsword and Scimitar. Do you have to attack first with The Scimitar get the extra attack with a shortsword as part of the attack action or do you have to attack with the Shortsword first and then use the Scimitar with Nick to get the second attack as part of the attack action? Are both right?
In order for you to get your second attack, you have to use the Nick weapon first, then after you use your Vex weapon you will get advantage on your next attack using your Nick weapon, then Vex. Rinse and repeat until combat ends.
There's debate about this point due to Nick not specifying the order. Various stances, none of which are favored by the way the rules are written:
Nick weapon during main attacks
Nick weapon for Light attack
Either order goes as long as Nick weapon is used
Without clarification, you can't be sure one is more valid than the others.
Could you clarify how the nick weapon mastery functions with light weapons and in what order it works in combat? For example: a character with weapon mastery for shortsword(vex) and scimitar(nick) is wielding a Shortsword and Scimitar. Do you have to attack first with The Scimitar get the extra attack with a shortsword as part of the attack action or do you have to attack with the Shortsword first and then use the Scimitar with Nick to get the second attack as part of the attack action? Are both right?
In order for you to get your second attack, you have to use the Nick weapon first, then after you use your Vex weapon you will get advantage on your next attack using your Nick weapon, then Vex. Rinse and repeat until combat ends.
There's debate about this point due to Nick not specifying the order.
I am not sure what you mean. You can only get the Nick or Vex affect depending on which weapon you use first. If you go Vex first, then you lose that extra attack and have to wait until it's your turn again to get the advantage roll. At that time you would need to decide if you will forego your extra attack and Vex again, or go Nick then Vex to rinse and repeat like I mentioned above.
But like the OP said, it's not meant for us to answer, it's for SAC. I can only offer what I RAW.
Could you clarify how the nick weapon mastery functions with light weapons and in what order it works in combat? For example: a character with weapon mastery for shortsword(vex) and scimitar(nick) is wielding a Shortsword and Scimitar. Do you have to attack first with The Scimitar get the extra attack with a shortsword as part of the attack action or do you have to attack with the Shortsword first and then use the Scimitar with Nick to get the second attack as part of the attack action? Are both right?
In order for you to get your second attack, you have to use the Nick weapon first, then after you use your Vex weapon you will get advantage on your next attack using your Nick weapon, then Vex. Rinse and repeat until combat ends.
There's debate about this point due to Nick not specifying the order.
I am not sure what you mean. You can only get the Nick or Vex affect depending on which weapon you use first. If you go Vex first, then you lose that extra attack and have to wait until it's your turn again to get the advantage roll. At that time you would need to decide if you will forego your extra attack and Vex again, or go Nick then Vex to rinse and repeat like I mentioned above.
But like the OP said, it's not meant for us to answer, it's for SAC. I can only offer what I RAW.
Nick doesn't say you have to attack with the Nick weapon first. An equally valid RAW reading of Nick is that the weapon with Nick is the Light weapon making the (normally BA) extra attack. Another equally valid RAW reading is that any combination works as long as the Attack action contains at least two attacks with Light weapons, at least one of which has the Nick property.
You can't insist on just one reading being RAW when the ability literally doesn't tell you the order.
Yep, that's why I posted here.... so hopefully they might anwser it eventually.
While they haven't said they will use this post to gather questions, I suppose it's as good a place as any since they haven't actually provided a way for us to submit them at this time.
Could you clarify how the nick weapon mastery functions with light weapons and in what order it works in combat? For example: a character with weapon mastery for shortsword(vex) and scimitar(nick) is wielding a Shortsword and Scimitar. Do you have to attack first with The Scimitar get the extra attack with a shortsword as part of the attack action or do you have to attack with the Shortsword first and then use the Scimitar with Nick to get the second attack as part of the attack action? Are both right?
In order for you to get your second attack, you have to use the Nick weapon first, then after you use your Vex weapon you will get advantage on your next attack using your Nick weapon, then Vex. Rinse and repeat until combat ends.
There's debate about this point due to Nick not specifying the order.
I am not sure what you mean. You can only get the Nick or Vex affect depending on which weapon you use first. If you go Vex first, then you lose that extra attack and have to wait until it's your turn again to get the advantage roll. At that time you would need to decide if you will forego your extra attack and Vex again, or go Nick then Vex to rinse and repeat like I mentioned above.
But like the OP said, it's not meant for us to answer, it's for SAC. I can only offer what I RAW.
Nick doesn't say you have to attack with the Nick weapon first. An equally valid RAW reading of Nick is that the weapon with Nick is the Light weapon making the (normally BA) extra attack. Another equally valid RAW reading is that any combination works as long as the Attack action contains at least two attacks with Light weapons, at least one of which has the Nick property.
You can't insist on just one reading being RAW when the ability literally doesn't tell you the order.
I propose that if there is a question posted here that can be answered or has open discussion going on, then one should simply post the relevant threads instead of rehashing said answers/discussions here.
Character options that were are not included are still valid (with the necessary tweaks to make them work). Rules that didn't carry over are not as easily reconciled, but if it was an optional rule already, then there is no reason you can't adapt it.
I think you are mistaking Orges (still have an entry in the MM) with Orcs (no longer have an entry in the MM, nor does any playable species in 2024). Also, I'm not sure what this second thing has to do with Sage Advice.
Could you clarify how the nick weapon mastery functions with light weapons and in what order it works in combat? For example: a character with weapon mastery for shortsword(vex) and scimitar(nick) is wielding a Shortsword and Scimitar. Do you have to attack first with The Scimitar get the extra attack with a shortsword as part of the attack action or do you have to attack with the Shortsword first and then use the Scimitar with Nick to get the second attack as part of the attack action? Are both right?
Nick applies to the Scimitar. So you Attack with the Shortsword, which allows you to activate Nick which gives you an attack with the Scimitar.
This question differ based on interpretation of the rules Light & Nick and WoTC hasn't provided any Sage Advice or Errata for it to settle the question so far. For some its either, for others it's second.
Personally, i rule that when you make the extra attack of the Light property with a weapon with Nick Mastery Property, you can make it as part of the Attack action instead of as a Bonus Action.
That's also my ruling, so the Nick Weapon Mastery activates when you make the Light additional attack, though RAW allows it on either attack. My understanding comes from how the article Your Guide to Weapon Mastery in the 2024 Player's Handbook explained it:
EDIT: ninja'd by Plaguescarred! I'll use this edit to share some discussions from the Rules & Games Mechanics subforum regarding the Nick order:
I also rule it that way, but it's definitely "ask your DM" territory.
In order for you to get your second attack, you have to use the Nick weapon first, then after you use your Vex weapon you will get advantage on your next attack using your Nick weapon, then Vex. Rinse and repeat until combat ends.
There's debate about this point due to Nick not specifying the order. Various stances, none of which are favored by the way the rules are written:
Without clarification, you can't be sure one is more valid than the others.
Yep, that's why I posted here.... so hopefully they might anwser it eventually.
I am not sure what you mean. You can only get the Nick or Vex affect depending on which weapon you use first. If you go Vex first, then you lose that extra attack and have to wait until it's your turn again to get the advantage roll. At that time you would need to decide if you will forego your extra attack and Vex again, or go Nick then Vex to rinse and repeat like I mentioned above.
But like the OP said, it's not meant for us to answer, it's for SAC. I can only offer what I RAW.
Nick doesn't say you have to attack with the Nick weapon first. An equally valid RAW reading of Nick is that the weapon with Nick is the Light weapon making the (normally BA) extra attack. Another equally valid RAW reading is that any combination works as long as the Attack action contains at least two attacks with Light weapons, at least one of which has the Nick property.
You can't insist on just one reading being RAW when the ability literally doesn't tell you the order.
While they haven't said they will use this post to gather questions, I suppose it's as good a place as any since they haven't actually provided a way for us to submit them at this time.
I propose that if there is a question posted here that can be answered or has open discussion going on, then one should simply post the relevant threads instead of rehashing said answers/discussions here.